Sometimes I Feel Like a Nut by Jill Kargman
Essays and Observations

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

“A smart, pocket-sized delight that artfully engages the funny bone.”
Kirkus Reviews

“From somebody who shares Jill Kargman’s fear of both vans and clowns, I promise this book will make you laugh out loud.”
—Nate Berkus, host of The Nate Berkus Show and a regular contributor to The Oprah Winfrey Show

 

The author of The Ex Mrs. Hedgefund and Wolves in Chic Clothing, Jill Kargman firmly believes in Woody Allen’s magical math equation: Comedy = Tragedy + Time. Sometimes I Feel Like a Nut is a delightful collection of essays and observations based on Kargman’s family, her phobias (vans, mimes, clowns), and her ability to use humor as a tool to get past life’s obstacles, making the fun times funnier and the tough times bearable. Fans of David Sedaris, Sloane Crosley, and Nora Ephron will rejoice, howl, and sympathize.

 

About Jill Kargman

See more books from this Author
Jill Kargman is the New York Times bestselling author of nine books including The Right Address, Wolves in Chic Clothing, Momzillas, and The Ex Mrs. Hedgefund. Her latest effort was the nationally bestselling book of essays, Sometimes I Feel Like a Nut, accompanied by her work as a featured writer for Vogue, Harper's Bazaar, Town & Country, and Elle, along with copywriting for her greeting card company, Jill Kargman Etceteras.
 
Published February 1, 2011 by HarperCollins e-books. 197 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Humor & Entertainment, Literature & Fiction. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Sometimes I Feel Like a Nut

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

These over-the-top moments are leavened with more focused playfulness, as when the author writes of her solidarity with gay men, the agony of natural childbirth (“having a bowling ball cruise through a straw”), her disenchantment with office work or, after the birth of her first daughter, the co-...

Feb 01 2011 | Read Full Review of Sometimes I Feel Like a Nut: ...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Novelist Kargman (Arm Candy) mines the typical pitfalls of life in New York City and unfortunately only unearths a few gems.

Nov 29 2010 | Read Full Review of Sometimes I Feel Like a Nut: ...

New York Journal of Books

See more reviews from this publication

Don’t let the diminutive size of Sometimes I Feel Like a Nut: Essays & Observations fool you—it’s filled with big laughs, emotions, angst and enough four-letter words to get Kargman kicked off “The View.” The author is a New York City mom, wife, writer of successful “beach-reads” such as Wolves i...

Feb 01 2011 | Read Full Review of Sometimes I Feel Like a Nut: ...

Book Reporter

Jill Kargman’s slim volume of essays and observations, SOMETIMES I FEEL LIKE A NUT, begins with the admission that though she titles her book after the Almond Joy jingle, she really hates coconuts.

Mar 28 2011 | Read Full Review of Sometimes I Feel Like a Nut: ...

Reader Rating for Sometimes I Feel Like a Nut
76%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 51 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×