Soul & Spice by Heidi Haughy Cusick

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

A vibrant celebration of African cooking in the Americas, "Soul and Spice" examines the evolution of this diverse and imaginative cuisine throughout its long and impressive history. One of the first cookbooks to make the culinary and cultural journey between Africa and the New World, "Soul and Spice" reveals the essence of African cooking in a marvelous introduction to the satisfying and delicious food that has been a staple of Black Americans for generations.
 

About Heidi Haughy Cusick

See more books from this Author
 
Published March 1, 1995 by Chronicle Books. 301 pages
Genres: Cooking. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Soul & Spice

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In the tradition of Jessica Harris's 1989 Iron Pots and Wooden Spoons, Cusick delves into the legacy of African immigrant cooking styles, tracing, for instance, the transformation of fiery rice-based

Feb 27 1995 | Read Full Review of Soul & Spice

Reader Rating for Soul & Spice
100%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 9 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review