Souls of Men by A. R. Ashworth
An Elaine Hope Mystery

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

The characterization is thin, and the violence against women goes well past gritty into gratuitous. Worthwhile only for thriller addicts with too much time on their hands.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

Veteran Detective Inspector Elaine Hope knows she was born to be a detective. Now she's taken over a bungled case and released the only suspect. Her male superiors in the London Metropolitan Police doubt her, and London's tabloids scream for a scapegoat.

None of them can stop her. Finding the truth is all that matters to Elaine. She forges ahead, standing up to her bosses, bad cops, and murderous crooks. Each has reason to fear her. Elaine's life gets more complicated when a former suspect shows romantic interest. He won’t reveal his personal tragedies to anyone but Elaine, and she has her own secrets.

As Elaine and her protégé, Liz Barker, track the killer through wintery London boroughs, darker hunters join the chase. When she finally confronts her quarry face-to-face, Elaine discovers how desires can mold the souls of men, and how one terrifying night will change her life forever.

Souls of Men, A. R. Ashworth's chilling debut, is sure to appeal to readers of Sharon Bolton and Deborah Crombie.
 

About A. R. Ashworth

See more books from this Author
A. R. Ashworth earned a degree in history before working for twenty years in high tech. Along the way, he developed a lasting love for Paris and London, which inspired his writing. He lives in the Texas Hill Country with his wife, a cheese-seeking Chihuahua, and an oversized tabby cat.
 
Published April 11, 2017 by Crooked Lane Books. 304 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense.
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Souls of Men
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Below average
on Feb 21 2017

The characterization is thin, and the violence against women goes well past gritty into gratuitous. Worthwhile only for thriller addicts with too much time on their hands.

Read Full Review of Souls of Men: An Elaine Hope ... | See more reviews from Kirkus