Spellbound by Jacqueline West

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 6 Critic Reviews



The mysteries grow deeper and the secrets darker in the second volume of the New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series.

With no way into the McMartin house's magical paintings and its three guardian cats reluctant to help, Olive's friend Morton is still trapped inside Elsewhere. So when Rutherford, the new oddball kid next door mentions a grimoire—a spellbook—Olive sees a glint of hope. If she can find the McMartins' spellbook, maybe she can help Morton escape Elsewhere for good. Unless, that is, the book finds Olive first.

The house isn't the only one keeping secrets anymore. You'll never guess what happens next in this thrilling, chilling fantasy series, perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap.

About Jacqueline West

See more books from this Author
Jacqueline West (www.jacquelinewest.com), a two-time Pushcart nominee for poetry, lives in Red Wing, Minnesota.
Published July 12, 2011 by Puffin. 303 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Children's Books. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Spellbound

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Olive has yet to find a solution to the last plot thread left over from the first volume—Morton is trapped, unable to rejoin the world outside of the McMartins’ enchanted paintings.

| Read Full Review of Spellbound

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

Under the guidance of David Hoey, its window director, Bergdorf's has engineered three ambitious suites of windows of blue-ribbon caliber and frequent art history references.

Dec 22 2000 | Read Full Review of Spellbound


As good as a book may be, it is rare that a YA book, especially one for the youngest end of the reader spectrum, is able to literally move me to laugh out loud—a fact that helped push this book from a 4-star to a 5-star review.

Jul 12 2011 | Read Full Review of Spellbound


It might seem intimidating for an observer to discuss a dance company that performs a work subtitled “The Invasion of Empty Words.” So let me try not to be too invasive in describing the haunting images that Italy’s Spellbound Contemporary Ballet offered Saturday at the Ohio Theatre in PlayhouseS...

Nov 11 2012 | Read Full Review of Spellbound

Bookmarks Magazine

From the schoolteacher who believed Africa should use the power of its witches to gain wealth and prestige to the social worker who championed the rights of accused witches but also took his wife to a witch doctor, Palmer takes readers deep inside a shadowy layer of rural African society.

Oct 18 2010 | Read Full Review of Spellbound


The McMartins did have a bit of an unfair advantage, being evil witches and all, but Olive had the help of Morton, the boy trapped in Elsewhere, and her three special guardian cats: Leopold, Horatio and Harvey.

Jul 12 2011 | Read Full Review of Spellbound

Reader Rating for Spellbound

An aggregated and normalized score based on 175 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review