Spin by Catherine McKenzie
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews



“At once comic, heart-breaking, and life-affirming.”
—Tish Cohen, author of Town House

“Imagine if Bridget Jones fell into a million little pieces, flew over the cuckoo’s nest, and befriended Lindsay Lohan along the way, and you are beginning to grasp the literary roller coaster ride that is Catherine McKenzie’s Spin.”
—Leah McLaren, author of The Continuity Girl

How far would you go to get what you wanted?  That’s the question author Catherine McKenzie addresses in Spin—a delectable debut novel that takes readers into the connected worlds of pop culture, tabloid journalism, and celebrity rehab. The story of a newbie undercover gossip reporter who follows a troubled starlet into a rehab clinic intending to dig up all the dirt she possibly can, Spin is smart, hip, utterly engaging contemporary fiction in the vein of Jennifer Weiner and Emily Giffin.


About Catherine McKenzie

See more books from this Author
Catherine McKenzie was born and raised in Montreal, Quebec. She is a litigator with the firm Irving Mitchell Kalichman, specializing in civil and commercial litigation and class action suits. When not serving on many professional associations, she writes book and movie reviews for Vivva Montreal, a local entertainment newspaper, sits on the board of the Montreal Children's Library and teaches part-time at the McGill University faculty of law.
Published February 7, 2012 by William Morrow Paperbacks. 448 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Spin


She does not expect to actually like, and become friends with, Amber, she does not expect to develop feelings for the assistant of Amber’s on-and-off-again boyfriend, and she certainly does not expect to actually learn something from the program.

Jul 23 2012 | Read Full Review of Spin: A Novel

New York Journal of Books

See more reviews from this publication

“For readers who enjoy a light, breezy love story, this book clips along well and satisfies. For those who prefer to go a little deeper into some questions that gnaw at the human condition, the book doesn’t do enough. Many will likely find this book enjoyable and a worthy debut effort by Catherin...

Feb 07 2012 | Read Full Review of Spin: A Novel

Chick Lit Central

I think that if you liked that book, you will definitely like "Spin."

Feb 02 2011 | Read Full Review of Spin: A Novel

Persephone Magazine

Still, this isn’t a book overly concerned with appearing “good” in all behavior, which is a trap similar books sometimes fall into.

Mar 16 2012 | Read Full Review of Spin: A Novel

Reader Rating for Spin

An aggregated and normalized score based on 156 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review