Spiral by Paul McEuen
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 5 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

In this riveting debut thriller—a finalist for Best First Novel at the 2012 Thriller Awards and a nominee for a Nero Award—the race is on to stop the devastating proliferation of the ultimate bioweapon. Spiral is perfect for fans of Michael Crichton, Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child, and Richard Preston.

When Nobel laureate Liam Connor is found dead at the bottom of one of Ithaca, New York’s famous gorges, his research collaborator, Cornell professor of nanoscience Jake Sterling, refuses to believe it was suicide. Why would one of the world’s most eminent biologists, a eighty-six-year old man in good health who survived some of the darkest days of the Second World War, have chosen to throw himself off a bridge? And who was the mysterious woman caught on camera at the scene? Soon it becomes clear that a cache of supersophisticated nanorobots—each the size of a spider—has disappeared from the dead man’s laboratory.

Stunned by grief, Jake, Liam’s granddaughter, Maggie, and Maggie’s nine-year-old son, Dylan, try to put the pieces together. They uncover ingeniously coded messages Liam left behind pointing toward a devastating secret he gleaned off the shores of war-ravaged Japan and carried for more than sixty years.

What begins as a quest for answers soon leads to a horrifying series of revelations at the crossroads of biological warfare and nanoscience. At this dangerous intersection, a skilled and sadistic assassin, an infamous Japanese war criminal, and a ruthless U.S. government official are all players in a harrowing game of power, treachery, and intrigue—a game whose winner will hold the world’s fate literally in the palm of his hand.


From the Hardcover edition.
 

About Paul McEuen

See more books from this Author
Paul McEuen is the Goldwin Smith Professor of physics at Cornell University. He has received numerous awards for his research, including the Agilent Technologies Europhysics Prize, a Packard Fellowship, and a Presidential Young Investigator Award. He lives with his wife and five dogs in Ithaca, New York.
 
Published March 22, 2011 by The Dial Press. 449 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Spiral

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

A Nobel Prize–winning science professor and his protégé must fend off a sophisticated lady assassin or lose a spore-producing bio-weapon that could kill millions.

Mar 08 2011 | Read Full Review of Spiral: A Novel

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

In “Spiral,” a scientific thriller by Paul McEuen, nanorobots cause mega problems.

Mar 13 2011 | Read Full Review of Spiral: A Novel

Los Angeles Times

See more reviews from this publication

The Cornell professor's debut novel is a smart, thrilling tale of intrigue around a biological weapon.

Apr 18 2011 | Read Full Review of Spiral: A Novel

Beverley Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

You can tailor the type of ads you receive by visiting here or to opt out of this type of targeting you can visit the 'Your Online Choices' website by clicking here.

May 06 2011 | Read Full Review of Spiral: A Novel

Bookmarks Magazine

In his debut, Paul McEuen writes what he knows, and the result--a bit heavy-handed at times on the technical side of things--is a primer on nanotech, the science of fungus, and some very interesting (and arcane) history.

Mar 20 2011 | Read Full Review of Spiral: A Novel

Reader Rating for Spiral
83%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 150 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×