Spirit Sickness by Kirk Mitchell

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



From the author of Cry Dance comes a new suspense thriller in the tradition of Tony Hillerman and Joseph Wambaugh.  Spirit Sickness reunites Bureau of Indian Affairs Criminal Investigator Emmett Quanah Parker and FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed, two Native American cops torn between their heritage and the law.

A burned-out police cruiser, gutted by fire in a remote part of the Navajo reservation, bears witness to a horrific crime.  Inside are the bodies of a tribal patrolman and his wife.  Even more chilling, the bodies were left to greet death in the traditional Navajo way:  the killer has smashed a window to let loose the chindis, the spirits of the dead.

As BIA Investigator Emmett Quanah Parker knows, a cop's murder is never simple, raising countless questions and suspicions.  Parker and FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed must make their way through a tangle of lies and misdirection, sift through an assortment of suspects, and work around the sexual tension between them that neither can hide nor ignore.  Then another murder complicates the case even more, exploding their investigation into an unimaginable realm.

The latest killing makes it clear that an inhumanly cunning mind is at work, weaving personal madness with a complex mix of Navajo mythology and superstition.  Both Parker, a Comanche, and Turnipseed, a Modoc, are well acquainted with the eerie shadowland between native myth and modern homicide investigation.  But now they will have to tear down the barriers they have constructed to separate heritage from professional duties.  They must embrace the attitudes they have long submerged under cold rationalism, and hope to touch minds with a murderer who has created his own reality-and with it the need to kill and kill again.

Following a serpentine trail through Navajo gangs and methamphetamine runners, Parker and Turnipseed are on the scent of a cold and ancient evil.  And they must find it before a killer erupts in a final outburst of blood fury and madness.

About Kirk Mitchell

See more books from this Author
Kirk Mitchell is a veteran of law enforcement in Indian country.  An Edgar Award nominee for a previous novel, he lives in the Sierra Nevada of California.
Published July 5, 2000 by Bantam. 368 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Spirit Sickness

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In his second suspense novel featuring unseasoned FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed and relentless Bureau of Indian Affairs Investigator Emmett Parker (after Cry Dance), Mitchell pulls out all the stops.

| Read Full Review of Spirit Sickness

Reader Rating for Spirit Sickness

An aggregated and normalized score based on 14 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review