Spycatcher by Matthew Dunn

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 9 Critic Reviews



“Great talent, great imagination, and real been-there done-that authenticity make this one of the year’s best thriller debuts.”
—Lee Child

“Not since Fleming charged Bond with the safety of the world has the international secret agent mystique been so anchored with an insider’s reality.”
—Noah Boyd, New York Times bestselling author of Agent X and The Bricklayer

“A real spy proves he is a real writer—and a truly deft and inventive one. Spycatcher is a stunning debut.”
—Ted Bell, New York Times bestselling author of Warlord

A real life former field officer, Matthew Dunn makes an extraordinary debut with Spycatcher, a masterwork of international espionage fiction that crackles with electrifying authenticity. Fans of Daniel Silva, Robert Ludlum, Brad Thor, and Vince Flynn will be on the edge of their seats as intelligence agent Will Cochrane—working on a joint covert mission for the CIA and MI6—sets out to capture a brilliant and ruthless Iranian spy. Timely and gripping, Spycatcher rockets the reader into a shadowy world of terrorism and counter-terrorism, and holds them in an iron grip until the last pulse-pounding page is turned.


About Matthew Dunn

See more books from this Author
As an MI6 field officer, Matthew Dunn coordinated special operations, and acted in deep-cover roles throughout the world. He was trained in all aspects of intelligence collection, deep-cover deployments, small-arms, explosives, military unarmed combat, surveillance, and infiltration. During his time in MI6, Dunn conducted approximately seventy missions-all of them successful. He lives in England.
Published August 9, 2011 by William Morrow. 544 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Horror, Biographies & Memoirs. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Spycatcher

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Learning from sources that a small unit of Iranian terrorists known as “the Jerusalem force” plans “a huge massacre, the likes of which the world has never seen,” Cochrane’s M16 controller and the British PM set Cochrane after the unit’s leader, Megiddo.

Aug 09 2011 | Read Full Review of Spycatcher

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

After a brief stay in a secret hospital, he takes on a new task—locating the mastermind of Iran's Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps, who's planning a massive terrorist attack.

May 30 2011 | Read Full Review of Spycatcher

New York Journal of Books

See more reviews from this publication

As Will learns more about Lana, she becomes his love interest, giving him added motivation to ensure her safety.Although primarily a loner, Will is joined by a crack team of CIA operatives and the story moves throughout the glamorous hotels and dangerous back alleys of Europe as Will, Lana, and t...

Aug 09 2011 | Read Full Review of Spycatcher

Reviewing the Evidence

There are moments of Cochrane left to work on his own, but his nemesis, the Iranian Revolutionary Guard leader, is very much up to the tactics of Cochrane.

| Read Full Review of Spycatcher

Lincoln Journal Star

After you have viewed FREE pages, we will ask you to purchase a subscription.

Jan 03 2012 | Read Full Review of Spycatcher

Mysterious Reviews

Cochrane, one of the most efficient — and deadly — operatives for the West, is given the code-name of Spartan and answers only to three men: his handler, the Prime Minister of England, and the President of the United States.

Mar 11 2013 | Read Full Review of Spycatcher

Large Print Reviews

The only man who can stop this escalating spiral of violence is the British born super-spy, Alexander Hawke whose wife was recently murdered minutes after their wedding.

May 03 2011 | Read Full Review of Spycatcher

US Daily Review

Matthew Dunn, a former field intelligence officer for Britain’s famous MI6, left the intelligence and security worlds in order to jump, feet first, into the world of literature.

Aug 23 2011 | Read Full Review of Spycatcher

Code 451

Until today, I would [...] Upcoming Books on WWI from Max Hastings and Others In June 2014 we will reach the start of one the darkest centennials in world history: the assassination of Archduke Franz [...] It has been widely discussed that the parity in college basketball is a...

Dec 05 2011 | Read Full Review of Spycatcher

Reader Rating for Spycatcher

An aggregated and normalized score based on 293 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review