Stickle Island by Tim Orchard

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

...the government’s presence quickly fades from the novel, leaving in its wake the novel’s less-than-compelling romantic entanglements and larger-than-life mobsters. An English social comedy that begins with promise but fails to develop into a fully satisfying novel.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

British weather is always unpredictable, but the Spring of 1980 was something else entirely – snow, hail, floods, drought and sometimes the whole ticket. Trucks were overturned, motorways closed, trees uprooted, crops flattened. When the sun finally rose on Stickle Island – stuck out there, a mile off Dymchurch in County Kent – six bales of primo marijuana had washed up on shore. Stickle Island follows the island’s myriad residents as they come up with a (not entirely agreed upon) plan to form a co-op and use the profit from pot sales to save the island’s only ferry, which, thanks to the miserly Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher, has just been placed on the chopping block. There’s hot-tempered and anarchic DC, a soused farmer Henry Stick, his bitter rival John, a horny vicar, an even hornier Postmistress, and their collected offspring: a clutch of teen punks, all of whom could use a leg up, or at least, a decent toke. Unfortunately for them, a violent and wildly erratic mainland drug dealer called Carter and his soft-hearted henchman Simp have plans of their own, and they’re coming to Stickle to see them through. The islanders must set aside their bitter rivalries and decades long feuds to save the ferry and protect their way of life, navigating the choppy waters of new romances as things grow increasingly, and hilariously, complicated. Brimming with delicious, subversive humor in the tradition of “Waking Ned Devine” and “The Full Monty”―Stickle Island introduces an energetic and gleeful new voice in literature: Tim Orchard, a 67-year-old London-based carpenter formerly from England’s second most unhappy district.
 

About Tim Orchard

See more books from this Author
 
Published February 20, 2018 by The Unnamed Press. 208 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Stickle Island
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Below average
on Nov 28 2017

...the government’s presence quickly fades from the novel, leaving in its wake the novel’s less-than-compelling romantic entanglements and larger-than-life mobsters. An English social comedy that begins with promise but fails to develop into a fully satisfying novel.

Read Full Review of Stickle Island | See more reviews from Kirkus

Rate this book!

Add Review