Still Midnight by Denise Mina
(Alex Morrow, Book 1) (Alex Morrow Novels)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 6 Critic Reviews



Alex Morrow is not new to the police force-or to crime-but there is nothing familiar about the call she has just received. On a still night in a quiet suburb of Glasgow, Scotland, three armed men have slipped from a van into a house, demanding a man who is not, and has never been, inside the front door. In the confusion that ensues, one family member is shot and another kidnapped, the assailants demanding an impossible ransom. Is this the amateur crime gone horribly wrong that it seems, or something much more unexpected?

As Alex falls further into the most challenging case of her career, Denise Mina proves why "if you don't read crime novels, Mina is your reason to change" (Rocky Mountain News).

About Denise Mina

See more books from this Author
Denise Mina is the author of The End of the Wasp Season, Still Midnight, Slip of the Knife, The Dead Hour, Field of Blood, Deception, and the Garnethill trilogy, the first installment of which won her the John Creasey Memorial Prize for best first crime novel. She lives in Glasgow.
Published March 2, 2010 by Reagan Arthur Books. 353 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Crime. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Still Midnight

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

The first in a new series from Tartan Noir exponent Mina, Still Midnight should ease her passage towards mainstream success.

Jul 17 2009 | Read Full Review of Still Midnight (Alex Morrow, ...

Book Reporter

Alex Morrow, a troubled and very angry cop, believes the case should be hers but is betrayed by her superior when the honors go to her rival, Grant Bannerman, an arrogant careerist who takes credit for work done by his underlings.

Jan 23 2011 | Read Full Review of Still Midnight (Alex Morrow, ...

Entertainment Weekly

But those novels have always had cooler characters, more pitch-perfect dialogue, and,… 2010-03-22 Denise Mina Fiction True Crime Reagan Arthur Book...

Mar 17 2010 | Read Full Review of Still Midnight (Alex Morrow, ...


Jul 24 2009 | Read Full Review of Still Midnight (Alex Morrow, ...

MostlyFiction Book Reviews

Scottish crime novel Still Midnight from author Denise Mina explores the levels of prejudice which taint the investigation of a non-textbook kidnapping case.

Jul 05 2010 | Read Full Review of Still Midnight (Alex Morrow, ...

Bookmarks Magazine

Glasgow-based Denise Mina is the author of the Garnethill trilogy (starring Maureen O'Donnell) and the Patricia "Paddy" Meehan series: A Field of Blood (3.5 of 5 Stars Nov/Dec 2005), The Dead Hour (4 of 5 Stars Nov/Dec 2006), and Slip of the Knife (4 of 5 Stars Selection May/June 2008).

Jul 05 2009 | Read Full Review of Still Midnight (Alex Morrow, ...

Reader Rating for Still Midnight

An aggregated and normalized score based on 105 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review