Sturgis South Dakota by Bev Pechan
1878-1960 (SD) (Images of America)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


Sturgis, named for Col. Samuel Sturgis of the U.S. Seventh Calvary, was established in 1878 as a ìno holds barredî supply center for Fort Meade. Laid out by Jeremiah Wilcox, an in-law of Colonel Sturgis, Sturgis had an ample representation of saloons and gambling dens. In fact, Sturgis became known as Scooptown, because of the regularity with which these establishments scooped the pay from Fort Meade soldiers' pockets. Now home to a thriving and active community, Sturgis has changed over the years but remains a colorful and fascinating area rich in history and character. In 1938, motorcycle enthusiast J.C. Pappy Hoel got a few friends together for a weekend of friendly competition, picnicking, and a tour of the Black Hills. Today, the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally is known worldwide.

About Bev Pechan

See more books from this Author
Bev Pechan and the Sturgis Arts Council have combined to present the colorful history of Sturgis through a collection of almost 200 vintage images. Ms. Pechan has co-authored another title with Arcadia, Remembering Rapid City.
Published September 29, 2003 by Arcadia Publishing. 128 pages
Genres: History.