Swimming with Giants by Anne Collet
My Encounters with Whales, Dolphins and Seals

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



Anne Collet has ridden the tail of a white whale - for ten seconds off the coast of Argentina. She has taken children diving in the Azores to see dolphins and led teenagers on ocean voyages. And she has heard the song of beluga whales in the Arctic Ocean. In Swimming with Giants, Collet describes the power and majesty of being close to some of nature's most magnificent creatures. Combining science with a sense of adventure, she conveys the sheer excitement of her work with marine mammals, from the sublime gaze of a whale's eye to the race to save animals harmed by pelagic drift nets or toxic spills. A contemporary ecohero in the tradition of Jacques Cousteau, Collet is an inspiration not only for the many who have accompanied her on her research trips, but also for those who will see in her journey a call to follow their own dreams.

About Anne Collet

See more books from this Author
Published November 14, 2000 by Milkweed Editions. 228 pages
Genres: Nature & Wildlife, Sports & Outdoors, Science & Math, Religion & Spirituality. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Swimming with Giants

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Collet sprinkles her essays with fascinating facts about cetacean biology (among them, that whales evolved from land animals resembling large hoofed wolves) and includes a helpful species list and glossary, but the book's nonchronological organization and personal approach make it less effective ...

| Read Full Review of Swimming with Giants: My Enco...

Rate this book!

Add Review