Sync by Steven H. Strogatz
The Emerging Science of Spontaneous Order

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

At the heart of the universe is a steady, insistent beat, the sound of cycles in sync. Along the tidal rivers of Malaysia, thousands of fireflies congregate and flash in unison; the moon spins in perfect resonance with its orbit around the earth; our hearts depend on the synchronous firing of ten thousand pacemaker cells. While the forces that synchronize the flashing of fireflies may seem to have nothing to do with our heart cells, there is in fact a deep connection.

Synchrony is a science in its infancy, and Strogatz is a pioneer in this new frontier in which mathematicians and physicists attempt to pinpoint just how spontaneous order emerges from chaos. From underground caves in Texas where a French scientist spent six months alone tracking his sleep-wake cycle, to the home of a Dutch physicist who in 1665 discovered two of his pendulum clocks swinging in perfect time, this fascinating book spans disciplines, continents, and centuries. Engagingly written for readers of books such as Chaos and The Elegant Universe, Sync is a tour-de-force of nonfiction writing.
 

About Steven H. Strogatz

See more books from this Author
Steven H. Strogatz is professor of applied mathematics at Cornell University. He received his Ph.D. from Harvard University in 1986. Professor Strogatz has been honored with several awards including MIT's highest teaching prize, the E.M. Baker Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, as well as a Presidential Young Investigator Award from the National Science Foundation. His research on a wide variety of nonlinear systems--from synchronized fireflies to small-world networks--has been featured in the pages of Scientific American, Nature, Discover, Business Week, and The New York Times . 
 
Published February 14, 2012 by Hachette Books. 357 pages
Genres: Computers & Technology, Education & Reference, Nature & Wildlife, Science & Math, Professional & Technical, Political & Social Sciences. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Sync

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

On a wider scale, such quantum phenomena as superconductivity and the rare Bose-Einstein condensates are examples of synchrony, as are the tidal resonances that force the moon to rotate with the same face always toward the Earth.

Mar 05 2003 | Read Full Review of Sync: The Emerging Science of...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Strogatz is a Cornell mathematician and pioneer of the science of synchrony, which brings mathematics, physics and biology to bear on the mystery of how spontaneous order occurs at every level of t

Feb 17 2003 | Read Full Review of Sync: The Emerging Science of...

Reader Rating for Sync
85%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 102 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×