Talking to the Dead by Harry Bingham
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 6 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

A mesmerizing and thrilling novel—perfect for fans of Tana French and Stieg Larsson—that introduces a modern, unforgettable rookie cop whose past is as fascinating and as deadly as the crimes she investigates.
 
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The Boston Globe • The Seattle Times

SHE KNOWS WHAT IT’S LIKE. . . .
 
At first, the murder scene appears sad, but not unusual: a young woman undone by drugs and prostitution, her six-year-old daughter dead alongside her. But then detectives find a strange piece of evidence in the squalid house: the platinum credit card of a very wealthy—and long dead—steel tycoon. What is a heroin-addicted hooker doing with the credit card of a well-known and powerful man who died months ago? This is the question that the most junior member of the investigative team, Detective Constable Fiona Griffiths, is assigned to answer.
 
But D.C. Griffiths is no ordinary cop. She’s earned a reputation at police headquarters in Cardiff, Wales, for being odd, for not picking up on social cues, for being a little overintense. And there’s that gap in her past, the two-year hiatus that everyone assumes was a breakdown. But Fiona is a crack investigator, quick and intuitive. She is immediately drawn to the crime scene, and to the tragic face of the six-year-old girl, who she is certain has something to tell her . . . something that will break the case wide open.
 
Ignoring orders and protocol, Fiona begins to explore far beyond the rich man’s credit card and into the secrets of her seaside city. And when she uncovers another dead prostitute, Fiona knows that she’s only begun to scratch the surface of a dark world of crime and murder. But the deeper she digs, the more danger she risks—not just from criminals and killers but from her own past . . . and the abyss that threatens to pull her back at any time.

BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from Harry Bingham's Love Story, with Murders.

Praise for Talking to the Dead
 
“Gritty, compelling . . . a procedural unlike any other you are likely to read this year.”—USA Today
 
“With Detective Constable Fiona ‘Fi’ Griffiths, Harry Bingham . . . finds a sweet spot in crime fiction . . . think Stieg Larsson’s Lisbeth Salander . . . Denise Mina’s ‘Paddy’ Meehan [or] Lee Child’s Jack Reacher. . . . The writing is terrific.”—The Boston Globe
 
“The mystery-thriller genre is already so staffed with masterminds that it’s hard to make room for another. But along comes a book like Talking to the Dead, and suddenly an unadvertised opening is filled. . . . [This] has the feel of something fresh and compelling.”—New York Daily News
 
“A stunner with precision plotting, an unusual setting, and a deeply complex protagonist . . . We have the welcome promise of more books to come about Griffiths.”—The Seattle Times
 
“Recommended highly . . . [a] riveting procedural thriller.”—Library Journal (starred review)
 

About Harry Bingham

See more books from this Author
Harry Bingham is an author and literary consultant who runs the U.K.'s largest literary consultancy firm, The Writers' Workshop. He has been longlisted for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award and shortlisted for the WH Smith Thumping Good Read Award for previous titles available in the U.K. He resides in Oxfordshire, where he is at work on the next novel in the Fiona Griffiths series.
 
Published May 1, 2014 by ISIS Large Print Books. 472 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Political & Social Sciences, Crime. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Talking to the Dead

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

She quickly connects the murder of a prostitute and her six-year-old daughter to a sex-trade ring run by a British millionaire that brings in Russian prostitutes, hooks them on heroin, enslaves them and snuffs them when they have outlived their usefulness.

Aug 04 2012 | Read Full Review of Talking to the Dead: A Novel

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Fans of Stieg Larsson’s Lisbeth Salander will cotton to the heroine of British author Bingham’s highly entertaining U.S. debut, Det.

Aug 13 2012 | Read Full Review of Talking to the Dead: A Novel

Reviewing the Evidence

At the same time Bingham cleverly reveals elements of Fi's back story - her father's unconventional occupation, her breakdown - in small pieces, always leaving questions that are not completely resolved until the conclusion of the book.

| Read Full Review of Talking to the Dead: A Novel

Oregon Live

Fiona Griffith is a bottom-of-the-ladder detective constable on the Welsh police force.

Nov 06 2012 | Read Full Review of Talking to the Dead: A Novel

NY Daily News

Book reviews: 'Talking to the Dead' and more - Page 1 - NY Daily News Monday, March 11, 20...

Sep 23 2012 | Read Full Review of Talking to the Dead: A Novel

Shots

Griffiths on the other hand believes that that there is more to the murder than initial meets the eye and she is determined despite her own foibles and psychological issues to get to the bottom of the violent murder even if it means solving the questions of her own past Talking to the Dead is ...

Jun 21 2012 | Read Full Review of Talking to the Dead: A Novel

Reader Rating for Talking to the Dead
78%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 236 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×