Talking to the Enemy by Scott Atran
Faith, Brotherhood, and the (Un)Making of Terrorists

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

“Atran explores the way terrorists think of themselves and teaches us, at last, intelligent ways to think about terrorists.”
—Christopher Dickey, Newsweek Middle East Editor and author of Securing the City

 

Talking to the Enemy by Scott Atran is an eye-opening and important book that offers readers a startling look deep inside terror groups. Based on the author’s unprecedented access to and in-depth interviews with terrorists and jihadis—including Al Qaeda, Hamas, and Taliban extremists, as well as members of other radical Islamic terror organizations—Talking to the Enemy provides fresh insight and unexpected answers to why there are people in this world willing to kill and die for a cause. A riveting, compelling work in the tradition of The Looming Tower and Terror in the Name of God, Talking to the Enemy is required reading for anyone interested in making the world a safer, more secure place for everyone.

 

About Scott Atran

See more books from this Author
Scott Atran is a director of research in anthropology at the National Center for Scientific Research in Paris, France. He is also a research associate and visiting professor in psychology and public policy at the University of Michigan, a Presidential Scholar in sociology at John Jay College of Criminal Justice, and cofounder of ARTIS Research and Risk Modeling. His books include In Gods We Trust: The Evolutionary Landscape of Religion.
 
Published October 19, 2010 by HarperCollins e-books. 576 pages
Genres: History, Political & Social Sciences, Religion & Spirituality. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Talking to the Enemy

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

One key text cited by MI5 analysts in conversations I had with them after the London bombings was the work of the social scientist Quintan Wiktorowicz, who, like Atran, favoured an explanation of extremist violence which depended less on asking "who?"

Oct 23 2010 | Read Full Review of Talking to the Enemy: Faith, ...

Reader Rating for Talking to the Enemy
70%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 15 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×