Teatro Olivia by Ian Falconer

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews



Welcome to Opening Night!

OLIVIA, the spirited heroine of the bestselling books Olivia, Olivia Saves the Circus, and? Olivia...and the Missing Toy, has a new showcase for her inimitable talents and imagination; her very own theater designed to introduce children of all ages to the magic of the stage.

OLIVIA is good at lots of things, including singing, dancing, and being in the spotlight. Starring in productions of Swan Lake, Turandot, and Romeo and Juliet, Olivia is in her element as leading lady extraordinaire in this elegantly constructed set that promises hours of fun.


• Enchanting scenery, including three full stage sets!

• Six Olivia paper dolls in ravishing costumes, and three Ian paper dolls!

• Teatro Olivia's very own Playbill (trademark sign), featuring revealing plot summaries and scintillating biographies of the players!

• Extra stock for budding set designers to create their own backdrops!

Pull the doors open. Fold down stage. Hang backdrops. Play!


About Ian Falconer

See more books from this Author
Ian Falconer is a writer and artist who has illustrated many covers of The New Yorker magazine. He has also designed sets and costumes for the New York City Ballet, the San Francisco Opera, and the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, among others. Olivia, his first children's picture book, garnered many awards. Falconer has published several more picture books about the charismatic pig Olivia including Olivia Saves the Circus, Olivia Forms a Band, Olivia Helps With Chrismas, and Olivia Goes to Venice. Ian has been awarded much recognition for his children's books including the Caldecott Honor Book, ALA Notable Children's Books, and School Library Journal Best of the Best Books. Falconer also illustrated Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk: A Modest Bestiary by author David Sedaris.
Published September 1, 2004 by Universe Publishing. 10 pages
Genres: Nature & Wildlife, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Teatro Olivia

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

The feisty porker literally takes the stage in Teatro Olivia. Fans first spy her peeking out of the curtain on the sturdy cardboard cover, which opens to reveal an elegant 3-D stage that lowers like a

Oct 31 2005 | Read Full Review of Teatro Olivia

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Falconer, with his background as a set designer, transports the audience to 14th-century Verona and Peking, China (""long long ago"") with ease, and leaves no detail untapped: a Playbill (with a cover scene aficionados will recognize from the heroine's debut, Olivia) gives a synopsis, a ""Who's w...

| Read Full Review of Teatro Olivia

USA Today

Fans of Falconer's Olivia, Olivia Saves the Circus and Olivia and the Missing Toy will be in hog heaven now that the most precious of pigs has taken to the stage.

| Read Full Review of Teatro Olivia

Reader Rating for Teatro Olivia

An aggregated and normalized score based on 8 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review