Ten White Geese by Gerbrand Bakker
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Have you ever wanted to disappear and make a new life for yourself where no one knows your name?

Ten White Geese is the eagerly anticipated, internationally bestselling new novel by the winner of the world’s richest literary prize for a single work of fiction. Fans of Per Petterson’s Out Stealing Horses or Paul Harding’s Tinkers may find in Ten White Geese a new novel to fall in love with.
  

A woman rents a remote farm in rural Wales. She says her name is Emilie. An Emily Dickinson scholar, she has fled Amsterdam, having just confessed to an affair. On the farm she finds ten geese. One by one they disappear. Who is this woman? Will her husband manage to find her? The young man who stays the night: why won’t he leave? And the vanishing geese?


Set against a stark and pristine landscape, and with a seductive blend of solace and menace, this novel of stealth intrigue summons from a woman’s silent longing fugitive moments of profound beauty and compassion.
 

About Gerbrand Bakker

See more books from this Author
DAVID COLMER is the translator of Bakker's novel The Twin.GERBRAND BAKKER won the 2010 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award for his first novel, The Twin. An avid gardener, he lives in Holland.
 
Published February 26, 2013 by Penguin Books. 241 pages
Genres: Education & Reference, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Ten White Geese

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

An Emily Dickinson scholar from the Netherlands journeys to Wales, ostensibly to carry on her research but more realistically, to escape from a scandal involving one of her students.

Jan 30 2013 | Read Full Review of Ten White Geese: A Novel

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Disappearing geese and an inexplicably hostile badger inhabit an otherwise eerily depopulated Welsh landscape in Bakker’s second novel (after the award-winning The Twin), which probes the inner landsc

Feb 11 2013 | Read Full Review of Ten White Geese: A Novel

Star Tribune

See more reviews from this publication

At times, this approach can frustrate: one scene involving Emilie’s husband also involves characters only designated as “the mother” and “the father” — a distancing device that seems out of sync with the realistic tone.

Mar 01 2013 | Read Full Review of Ten White Geese: A Novel

This haunting, fearless, and heartbreaking novel about loss, loneliness, and grief by Dutch novelist Bakker, who won the 2010 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award for his debut, The Twin, begins with an unnamed middle-aged woman settling into a remote farmhouse in Wales. She is a professor o...

Apr 15 2013 | Read Full Review of Ten White Geese: A Novel

Reader Rating for Ten White Geese
61%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 39 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×