That Darkness by Lisa Black
(A Gardiner and Renner Novel)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

The intriguing forensic details help drive the plot to its satisfying conclusion, but the sketchy portrayal of the characters, particularly Maggie, will disappoint readers expecting more depth.
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

In this tour de force of psychological suspense, bestselling author Lisa Black draws from her experience as a forensic investigator to create two of the most fascinating characters in crime fiction: a killer with a unique sense of justice and a woman in a lifelong relationship with death…

That Darkness

As a forensic investigator for the Cleveland Police Department, Maggie Gardiner has seen her share of Jane Does. The latest is an unidentified female in her early teens, discovered in a local cemetery. More shocking than the girl's injuries--for Maggie at least--is the fact that no one has reported her missing. She and the detectives assigned to the case (including her cop ex-husband) are determined to follow every lead, run down every scrap of evidence. But the monster they seek is watching every move, closer to them than they could possibly imagine. 

Jack Renner is a killer. He doesn't murder because he enjoys it, or because he believes himself omnipotent, or for any reason other than to make the world a safer place. When he follows the trail of this Jane Doe to a locked room in a small apartment where eighteen teenaged girls are anything but safe, he knows something must be done. But his pursuit of their captor takes an unexpected turn.

Maggie Gardiner finds another body waiting for her in the autopsy room--and a host of questions that will challenge everything she believes about justice, morality, and the true nature of evil …

Praise For Lisa Black and her bestselling novels

"Lisa Black writes with immediacy and unmatched authenticity." --Jeff Lindsay, New York Times bestselling author of the DEXTER series

"In Black's skillful hands, you're in for a surprise…a gifted storyteller." --Ridley Pearson

"A must-read for fans of Cornwell and Grafton." --Booklist

"Black, who is a forensic scientist, certainly knows her field." --Publishers Weekly

"Quite simply, one of the best storytellers around." --Tess Gerritsen

"Highly entertaining…Fans of forensic thrillers will look forward to seeing more." --Library Journal

"Pulse-pounding adventure…devilishly clever." --Mystery Scene

"Lisa Black heightens the suspense." --South Florida Sun-Sentinel
 

About Lisa Black

See more books from this Author
Lisa Black is the author of three previous thrillers featuring Theresa MacLean: Trail of Blood, Evidence of Murder, and Takeover. A latent fingerprint examiner and CSI in Florida and a former forensic scientist for the Cleveland coroner's office, she is a member of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences and has testified in more than fifty homicide trials. A native of Cleveland, she lives in Cape Coral, Florida.
 
Published April 26, 2016 by Kensington. 336 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Crime, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for That Darkness
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Publishers Weekly

Below average
on Aug 13 2016

The intriguing forensic details help drive the plot to its satisfying conclusion, but the sketchy portrayal of the characters, particularly Maggie, will disappoint readers expecting more depth.

Read Full Review of That Darkness (A Gardiner and... | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Reader Rating for That Darkness
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 10 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×