That Summer at Hill Farm by Miranda France

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

It was the summer that everything changed... A sparkling, witty debut, perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson, Stella Gibbons and Joanna Trollope.
 
To the casual outsider, Hill Farm is a rural idyll and the perfect retreat from urban life. Yet beneath the tranquil surface lie discontent, desire and death-watch beetles.
 
Farmer Hayes loves the land -- but hates farming. His neglected wife Isabel adores her three children, but is temperamentally unsuited to life as a wife and mother. The Smith sisters have not spoken to one another for forty years, farm-hand Mikey dabbles in pyromania, while neighbour Mr Payne has fled the city, only to find a greater threat to his karma in the hedgerows of Middle England. And after one incendiary summer, all of their lives will be different.
 

About Miranda France

See more books from this Author
 
Published May 9, 2011 by Chatto & Windus. 304 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for That Summer at Hill Farm

The Bookbag

The Paynes live in a cottage on the farm, wedded to the idea that they live in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and impervious to the realities of the farming community.

Jan 12 2015 | Read Full Review of That Summer at Hill Farm