The All of It by Jeannette Haien

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

JeannetteHaien’s award-winning first novel relates the seemingly simple tale of a parishioner confiding in her priest, but the tangled confession brings secrets to light that provoke a moral quandary for not only the clergyman, but the reader as well. Set in a small town in Ireland, Haien’s intimate novel of conversations and dilemmas—perfect for readers of Paul Harding’s Tinkers, Marilynne Robinson’s Gilead, and Flannery O’Connor’sWise Blood—is “an elegantly written, compact and often subtle tale of morality and passion that gives voice to an age-old concern in a fresh way” (NewYork Times Book Review).Harper Perennial breathes new life into this 1986 classic in a new edition with an introduction by Ann Patchett.

 

About Jeannette Haien

See more books from this Author
Jeannette Haien is the author of the acclaimed novel The All of It , winner of the Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. In addition to her career as a writer, Jeannette Haien is well known as a concert pianist and teacher. She and her husband, a lawyer, live in New York City and Connemara, Ireland.
 
Published October 13, 2009 by HarperCollins e-books. 145 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The All of It

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Carefully wrought and sensitive novella about an Irish priest who comes upon love late in life.

Aug 20 1986 | Read Full Review of The All of It

Reader Rating for The All of It
76%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 162 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×