The Alphabet Sisters by Monica McInerney
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews



As girls growing up in Clare Valley, Australia, Anna, Bett, and Carrie Quinlan were childhood singing stars known as The Alphabet Sisters. The unbridled enthusiasm of their flamboyant grandmother Lola was the glue that held them together. As adults, though, the women haven’t spoken in years–ever since Bett’s fiancé deserted her to marry the younger Carrie. Now Lola is turning eighty and she is determined to reunite the girls for a blowout bash. And no one ever says no to Lola.

Bett, who fled to London after the scandal of losing her fiancé, is hesitant to face her sisters and her hometown–especially since she has yet to find another man. Sophisticated Anna, the eldest sister, isn’t too keen on the prospect either, though she’s secretly grateful for any excuse to leave her crumbling marriage behind in Sydney. And Carrie, who remained in Clare Valley, is perhaps the most apprehensive. Her marriage–the nominal cause of the sisters’ estrangement–is also on the rocks. Was she wrong to have followed her heart and run off with Bett’s fiancé?

When Lola shares her special request, that the girls stage a musical she has written, their short visit becomes a much longer commitment. As they are forced to spend more time together, the sisters must confront the pain that lingers between them. Preconceptions and misunderstandings are slowly put aside and the three find themselves gradually, irresistibly enveloping one another once again–until an unexpected turn of events changes everything in ways none of them could have ever imagined. . . .

Layering the lighthearted antics of small-town life with a heartbreaking story of loyalty lost and found, The Alphabet Sisters is an unforgettable story of two generations of women who learn that being true to themselves means being true to one another.

BONUS: This edition contains excerpts from Monica McInerney's Lola's Secret, At Home with the Templetons, The Faraday Girls, Family Baggage, Greetings from Somewhere Else, and Upside Down Inside Out.

About Monica McInerney

See more books from this Author
Monica McInerney grew up in a family of seven children in the Clare Valley of South Australia, where her father was the railway stationmaster. She is the author of the internationally bestselling novels The Alphabet Sisters, Family Baggage, The Faraday Girls, Upside Down Inside Out, Greetings from Somewhere Else, At Home with the Templetons, and Lola’s Secret. She now lives in Dublin with her husband.
Published May 17, 2005 by Ballantine Books. 448 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Romance. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Alphabet Sisters

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Sibling rivalry and sisterly devotion mix it up in South Australia--in McInerney's American debut.

May 20 2010 | Read Full Review of The Alphabet Sisters: A Novel

Book Reporter

Cooked up by their flamboyant grandmother, Lola, as a scheme to give the girls something to do, "The Alphabet Sisters" not only broke up, but the sisters entangled themselves in such a fervent feud that none of them are even on speaking terms.

Jan 07 2011 | Read Full Review of The Alphabet Sisters: A Novel

RT Book Reviews

RT Book Reviews © 2009 - 2013.

| Read Full Review of The Alphabet Sisters: A Novel

CCB La Valla Library

... THE ALPHABET SISTERS by Monica McInerney. Anna ... After reading my first
Monical McInerney novel I decided to try another and it didn't ...

Oct 22 2011 | Read Full Review of The Alphabet Sisters: A Novel

Reader Rating for The Alphabet Sisters

An aggregated and normalized score based on 45 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review