The Ararat Illusion by David D. Minier

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



Santa Barbara, California, 1973: Rookie cop Michael Page responds to a seaside hotel shooting and finds himself at the center of an international incident-the assassination of two Turkish diplomats to avenge the Armenian Genocide. Thirteen years later, history begins to repeat itself when America's ambassador to Turkey is murdered at a Santa Barbara restaurant. The assassin calls himself "Antranik," after a legendary Armenian war hero, and leaves a calling card-a picture of Mount Ararat, Armenia's sacred mountain. Police Lieutenant Michael Page is soon drawn into a deadly game of wits with Antranik as the terrorist murders a series of federal officials. Page enlists the help of Lela Drew, a beautiful graduate student in Armenian history, to analyze the assassin. The search for Antranik leads Page to confrontations at a Yosemite National Park courthouse, San Francisco's Bay to Breakers footrace, and Fresno's Ararat Cemetery, but the terrorist escapes. When Antranik is revealed as a Soviet K.G.B. agent, with President Ronald Reagan the final target, Washington and Moscow prepare for war. Page discovers where Antranik plans to kill the President, and he and Lela Drew race to prevent the assassination and potential nuclear holocaust.

About David D. Minier

See more books from this Author
Romance author Jayne Ann Krentz was born in Borrego Springs, California on March 28, 1948. She received a B.A. in history from the University of California at Santa Cruz and a Masters degree in library science from San Jose State University. Before becoming a full-time author, she worked as a librarian. Her novels include: Truth or Dare, All Night Long, and Copper Beach. She has written under seven different names: Jayne Bentley, Amanda Glass, Stephanie James, Jayne Taylor, Jayne Castle, Amanda Quick and Jayne Ann Krentz. Her first book, Gentle Pirate, was published in 1980 under the name Jayne Castle. She currently uses only three personas to represent her three specialties. She uses the name Jayne Ann Krentz for her contemporary pieces, Amanda Quick for her historical fiction pieces, and Jayne Castle for her futuristic pieces. She has received numerous awards for her work including the 1995 Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award for Trust Me, the 2004 Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award for Falling Awake, the Romantic Times Career Achievement Award, the Romantic Times Jane Austen Award, and the Susan Koppelman Award for Feminist Studies for Dangerous Men and Adventurous Women: Romance Writers on the Appeal of the Romance.
Published November 15, 2011 by Siglo Editions. 342 pages
Genres: History, Political & Social Sciences, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Ararat Illusion

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

A fast-paced political thriller set during the Reagan presidency.

Jan 14 2013 | Read Full Review of The Ararat Illusion

Rate this book!

Add Review