The Art of Wishing by Lindsay Ribar

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



"Genies for the modern age, with passion, darkness, and heart. I loved it!" —Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Sometimes the most terrifying thing is getting what you really want.

Oliver’s skin was still warm, even though there wasn’t a wish waiting to be granted. That strange, spicy-tingly heat spread through my fingers again, and I squeezed his hand a little as we walked. Maybe it was just a reaction to him being inside my head, or to feeling him use his magic, but I suddenly found myself thinking about his pretty eyes, and wondering what it would be like to kiss him. I wondered if his lips felt like magic, too.
He glanced curiously at me, and I remembered: He could hear what I wanted. Our eyes locked, and my heart leaped into my throat. What did I want?

Oliver’s magic binds him to Margo until she makes three wishes. And while she tries to figure out what to wish for she begins to realize he might be what she wants most. The Art of Wishing is a modern romance with a touch of magic that is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Susane Colosanti!

About Lindsay Ribar

See more books from this Author
Lindsay Ribar lives in New York City and is an assistant at a literary agency. She double-majored in English literature and acting while at NYU. This is her first book.
Published March 21, 2013 by Speak. 336 pages
Genres: Romance, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Young Adult, Children's Books. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Art of Wishing

Gr 9 Up—Senior Margo McKenna knows something is up when she loses the lead in her school play to an unknown and talentless sophomore named Vicky. To escape during one particularly frustrating rehearsal, she goes to the girls' room, where she finds a ring. When she picks it up, the mysterious new ...

May 01 2013 | Read Full Review of The Art of Wishing

Reader Rating for The Art of Wishing

An aggregated and normalized score based on 46 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review