The Ball Player by Clay Snellgrove

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



A poignant story about a young man’s life journey, The Ball Player takes the reader into the heart and mind of a gifted athlete. Burdened by his responsibility for his best friend’s death, and confused by a love for the same friend’s fiance, this professional ball player tries for a second time to make it to the Major Leagues. More about how love and questions of fate can direct a man’s life, The Ball Player weaves a compelling drama around the world of professional baseball. Honest and compelling, the heart and mind of a relentless competitor fuels each chapter of this creatively crafted story of love and redemption. The Ball Player is for fans of Field of Dreams, The Sandlot, Bull Durham, and For Love of the Game. "One of the best baseball novels in recent memory..."

"Snellgrove deftly illustrates the pressures on ball players vying for select
spots, even on a minor league team...Solid character-building...believable and tragic. A sturdy sports novel with much greater appeal." - Kirkus Reviews

"In his admirable debut novel, Clay Snellgrove gives us a rare, inside look at a ballplayer's emotional and hidden lives... 'The Ball Player' is raw, honest and tender."--Jim Gullo, author of Trading Manny: How a Father & Son Learned to Love Baseball Again

About Clay Snellgrove

See more books from this Author
Published April 27, 2012 by Clay Snellgrove's Loaded Press. 288 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Sports & Outdoors. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Ball Player

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

From this point on, the two men grow distant as their competitiveness leads them into different lives: Danny becomes a local football coach, and the narrator continues to persevere through grinding but successful minor league seasons.

Jul 09 2012 | Read Full Review of The Ball Player

Reader Rating for The Ball Player

An aggregated and normalized score based on 20 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review