The Battle for Skandia by John Flanagan
(Ranger's Apprentice, Book 4)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

...Flanagan expertly juggles the overall plot line, in which the four struggle with confusion because they’re not sure how or what they feel about each other, with a logically constructed campaign that culminates in a hard, suspenseful battle.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

The international bestselling series with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. alone!

Still far from their homeland after escaping slavery in the icebound land of Skandia, Will and Evanlyn's plans to return to Araluen are spoiled when Evanlyn is taken captive by a Temujai warrior. Though still weakened by the warmweed's toxic effects, Will employs his Ranger training to locate his friend, but an enemy scouting party has him fatally outnumbered. Will is certain death is close at hand, until Halt and Horace make a daring, last-minute rescue. The reunion is cut short, however, when Halt makes a horrifying discovery: Skandia's borders have been breached by the entire Temujai army. And Araluen is next in their sights. If two kingdoms are to be saved, an unlikely union must be made. Will it hold long enough to vanquish a ruthless new enemy? Or will past tensions spell doom for all?

The battles and drama are nonstop in Book Four of this hugely popular epic.

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.

 

About John Flanagan

See more books from this Author
John Flanagan grew up in Sydney, Australia hoping to be a writer. It wasn’t until he wrote a highly uncomplimentary poem about a senior executive at the agency he worked, however, that his talent was revealed. It turned out one of the company directors agreed with John’s assessment of the executive, and happily agreed to train John in copywriting. After writing advertising copy for the next two decades, John teamed with an old friend to develop a television sitcom, Hey Dad!, which went on to air for eight years. John began writing Ranger’s Apprentice for his son, Michael, ten years ago, and is still hard at work on the series. He currently lives in the suburb of Manly, Australia, with his wife. In addition to their son, they have two grown daughters and four grandsons.
 
Published January 8, 2009 by Puffin Books. 316 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction, History. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Battle for Skandia
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Above average
Reviewed by Kirkus Reviews on May 20 2010

...Flanagan expertly juggles the overall plot line, in which the four struggle with confusion because they’re not sure how or what they feel about each other, with a logically constructed campaign that culminates in a hard, suspenseful battle.

Read Full Review of The Battle for Skandia (Range... | See more reviews from Kirkus

KidsReads

Above average
Reviewed by Sarah A. Wood on Jan 08 2009

THE BATTLE FOR SKANDIA will be enjoyed most by readers already familiar with the first three books in the series. But catching up should not constitute serious hardship for fans of fast-paced action/adventure.

Read Full Review of The Battle for Skandia (Range...

Reader Rating for The Battle for Skandia
91%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 835 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×