The Beekeeper's Lament by Hannah Nordhaus
How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 5 Critic Reviews



“You’llnever think of bees, their keepers, or the fruits (and nuts) of their laborsthe same way again.” —Trevor Corson, author of The Secret Life of Lobsters

Award-winning journalist Hannah Nordhaus tells the remarkable story of John Miller, one of America’s foremost migratory beekeepers, and the myriad and mysterious epidemics threatening American honeybee populations. In luminous, razor-sharp prose, Nordhaus explores the vital role that honeybees play in American agribusiness, the maintenance of our food chain, and the very future of the nation. With an intimate focus and incisive reporting, in a book perfect for fans of Eric Schlosser’s Fast Food Nation, Michael Pollan’s The Botany of Desire,and John McPhee’s Oranges, Nordhaus’s stunning exposé illuminates one the most critical issues facing the world today,offering insight, information, and, ultimately, hope.


About Hannah Nordhaus

See more books from this Author
Award-winning journalist Hannah Nordhaus has written for the Los Angeles Times, the Financial Times, the Village Voice, Outside magazine, and other publications. She lives with her family in Boulder, Colorado.
Published May 24, 2011 by HarperCollins e-books. 291 pages
Genres: Business & Economics, History, Nature & Wildlife, Science & Math, Professional & Technical, Sports & Outdoors. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Beekeeper's Lament

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

While researching a story about beekeeping, journalist Nordhaus happened upon John Miller, a migratory beekeeper who shuttles his thousands of hives from California to North Dakota.

Apr 05 2011 | Read Full Review of The Beekeeper's Lament: How O...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In this revelatory, bittersweet investigation into the state of commercial beekeeping in the 21st century, Nordhaus follows the migratory life of a commercial beekeeper, John Miller, as he trucks his bees between California and North Dakota, pollinating almond orchards, defending his territory of...

Mar 14 2011 | Read Full Review of The Beekeeper's Lament: How O...

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

(And bats, which have ecological similarities to be bees, also suffering hugely — particularly from mysterious "white nose syndrome".) One of the things this book makes clear is just how complex and sophisticated bees are.

Jul 27 2011 | Read Full Review of The Beekeeper's Lament: How O...

Star Tribune

See more reviews from this publication

Meticulously researched and lovingly wrought, this book traces the work and passion of a fourth-generation beekeeper.

Jul 01 2011 | Read Full Review of The Beekeeper's Lament: How O...

Chicago Sun Times

Nordhaus provides an almost overwhelming amount of information in a relatively short amount of space, but it’s a fascinating read from cover to cover, and Miller makes a genuinely likable American hero, despite the repeated mentions of how much he is not a “people person,” instead preferring the ...

May 26 2011 | Read Full Review of The Beekeeper's Lament: How O...

Reader Rating for The Beekeeper's Lament

An aggregated and normalized score based on 121 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review