The Believers by Zoe Heller
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 18 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

“[Zoe Heller] is an extraordinarily entertaining writer, and this novel showcases her copious gifts, including a scathing, Waugh-like wit.”—New York Times

Best-selling author Zoe Heller has followed up the critical and commercial success of What Was She Thinking? Notes on a Scandal with another tour-de-force on the meaning of faith, belief, and trust: The Believers. Tragic and comic, witty and intense, The Believers is the story of a dysfunctional family forced by tragedy to confront their own personal demons. In the vein of Claire Messud and Zadie Smith, Zoe Heller has written that rare novel that tackles the big ideas without sacrificing page-turning readability.

 

About Zoe Heller

See more books from this Author
ZoË Heller is the author of Everything You Know and What Was She Thinking? Notes on a Scandal, which was short-listed for the Man Booker Prize and made into an acclaimed film starring Cate Blanchett and Judi Dench. Heller lives in New York.
 
Published February 20, 2009 by HarperCollins e-books. 368 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Believers

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

The problem is that Audrey is the least compelling character, with little explanation as to how she has become such a doctrinaire radical harridan (much more rigid than her husband), a “champagne socialist” hypocrite and unloving mother to her two daughters.

| Read Full Review of The Believers: A Novel

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

He is regarded by members of his lefty New York circle as a genius and hero who has stayed true to his principles despite society’s drift into yuppie materialism, and he revels in being described by The New York Post as “a rent-a-radical with a long history of un-Americanism.” When Joel ...

Mar 02 2009 | Read Full Review of The Believers: A Novel

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

There are familiar overtones in “The Believers.” Its depiction of a family galaxy that spins around an accomplished, famous and amorous father is reminiscent of Claire Messud’s satirical novel “The Emperor’s Children.” And as a stylist, Heller resembles Lionel Shriver, whose novel “We Need to Tal...

Mar 06 2009 | Read Full Review of The Believers: A Novel

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

Zoe Heller's best-known book, Notes on a Scandal, was an exercise in the unreliable narrator, with all the information, including the information that undermined it, being given from a single point of view.

Sep 07 2008 | Read Full Review of The Believers: A Novel

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

The Believers by Zoe Heller Buy it from the Guardian bookshop Search the Guardian bookshop At a party in London in 1962, Audrey Howard, a typist from Chertsey, meet...

May 09 2009 | Read Full Review of The Believers: A Novel

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

The Believers is at heart an American novel: a larger, more considered, layered and utterly assured study of a family driven by political passion whose personal lives refuse to comply with prescribed ideology.

Sep 20 2008 | Read Full Review of The Believers: A Novel

AV Club

See more reviews from this publication

Now middle-aged, Audrey is shaken when Joel lapses into a coma after a sudden stroke, and she’s unavoidably beset with a family whose several low-level crises have been simmering for years.

Mar 26 2009 | Read Full Review of The Believers: A Novel

Entertainment Weekly

A Originally posted Mar 18, 2009 Published in issue #1040 Mar 27, 2009 Order article reprints

Mar 17 2009 | Read Full Review of The Believers: A Novel

The Washington Post

With her arcing wit and searing characters, Zoë Heller is quickly becoming one of the sharpest novelists in America.

Mar 04 2009 | Read Full Review of The Believers: A Novel

The Independent

Audrey, above all, believes in herself and Joel: "Married life was like good health," she considers.

Sep 19 2008 | Read Full Review of The Believers: A Novel

The Telegraph

Holly Kyte reviews The Believers The metamorphosis of Zoë Heller While accommodating themselves to their father's infidelity, Joel and Audrey's three children each have their own s...

Sep 26 2008 | Read Full Review of The Believers: A Novel

The Telegraph

'The challenge of modernity is to live without illusions and without becoming disillusioned.' So begins Zoë Heller's third novel, The Believers, with the words of Marxist heavyweight Antonio Gramsci.

Sep 26 2008 | Read Full Review of The Believers: A Novel

USA Today

Lenny is a drug addict and liar, and because he can't function on his own, Audrey showers him with a love any sane person would flee from.The family implodes when Joel has a stroke and remains hospitalized in a coma.

| Read Full Review of The Believers: A Novel

London Review of Books

By the time Audrey and the couple’s three grown-up children – Rosa, Karla and Lenny – have arrived at the emergency room, Joel is in a coma, and the novel is properly underway.

| Read Full Review of The Believers: A Novel

Bookmarks Magazine

Nancy Connors Dallas Morning News 4 of 5 Stars "[Heller’s] latest novel, a story about a modern New York family in the wake of personal tragedy, is everything fiction should be: captivating, entertaining and in many ways, absolutely true.

Sep 14 2008 | Read Full Review of The Believers: A Novel

Chamber Four

To The Lighthouse, by Virginia Woolf Similar Posts REVIEW: The Known World REVIEW: The Fixer REVIEW: Drood REVIEW: The Gone-Away World Wednesday Links 9-2-2009

Jul 03 2009 | Read Full Review of The Believers: A Novel

Fiction Writers Review

In her latest novel, The Believers (Harper, 2008), Zoë Heller once again proves herself a master of the unsettling.

Jun 16 2009 | Read Full Review of The Believers: A Novel

Heart to Heart: The Barnes and Noble Romance Blog

Rather than writing your review in this thread, please go to the review page for the book.

| Read Full Review of The Believers: A Novel

Reader Rating for The Believers
69%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 82 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×