The Best Man by Richard Peck

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

What brief glimpses we could see of the love story were adorable in the best sense of the word. I really hope kids will like this book as much as I did.
-Dear Author

Synopsis

Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos.

Archer Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer,; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth—Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact, the first male teacher in the history of the school.

But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn't see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he's the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story.

In pages that ripple with laughter, there's a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.
 

About Richard Peck

See more books from this Author
Richard Peck, author of more than thirty novels, is one of the most celebrated children's book writers in the country. He has won the Newbery Medal, the Edgar Award, the Margaret A. Edwards Award, a National Humanities Medal, and twice been a National Book Award finalist, among many other honors. He lives in New York City (when not visiting London his favorite home away from home).
 
Published September 20, 2016 by Dial Books. 237 pages
Genres: Children's Books, History.
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Best Man
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Dear Author

Good
Reviewed by Sirius on Sep 20 2016

What brief glimpses we could see of the love story were adorable in the best sense of the word. I really hope kids will like this book as much as I did.

Read Full Review of The Best Man | See more reviews from Dear Author

Reader Rating for The Best Man
82%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 58 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×