The Blinds by Adam Sternbergh

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

Sternbergh cleverly keeps the reader off-kilter with his characters and myriad twists in the plot. While the medical technology to wipe memories is given its due, Sternbergh wisely doesn’t linger on this subject.
-Washington Times

Synopsis

From the Edgar Award-nominated author of Shovel Ready, a blistering new thriller that Dennis Lehane calls “propulsive and meaningful”

For fans of Cormac McCarthy, Jim Thompson, the Coen Brothers, and Lost

Imagine a place populated by criminals—people plucked from their lives, with their memories altered, who’ve been granted new identities and a second chance. Welcome to The Blinds, a dusty town in rural Texas populated by misfits who don’t know if they’ve perpetrated a crime or just witnessed one. What’s clear to them is that if they leave, they will end up dead.

     For eight years, Sheriff Calvin Cooper has kept an uneasy peace—but after a suicide and a murder in quick succession, the town’s residents revolt. Cooper has his own secrets to protect, so when his new deputy starts digging, he needs to keep one step ahead of her—and the mysterious outsiders who threaten to tear the whole place down. The more he learns, the more the hard truth is revealed: The Blinds is no sleepy hideaway. It’s simmering with violence and deception, aching heartbreak and dark betrayals.

 

About Adam Sternbergh

See more books from this Author
ADAM STERNBERGH is the culture editor of The New York Times Magazine. Formerly editor-at-large for New York, his writing has been featured in several other publications including GQ, The Times of London, and on the radio program This American Life. He lives in Brooklyn and is at work on a second Spademan novel.

Author Residence: Brooklyn

Author Hometown: Toronto
 
Published August 1, 2017 by Ecco. 400 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Action & Adventure, Westerns, Literature & Fiction, Crime. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Blinds
All: 3 | Positive: 3 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Excellent
on May 15 2017

Every time the reader thinks this story’s turning right, it takes a hard left. But it never wanders in circles, and it does move like a championship stock car toward a climax that, however shattering, implies there’s more to come.

Read Full Review of The Blinds | See more reviews from Kirkus

Washington Times

Above average
Reviewed by Oline H. Cogdill on Jul 31 2017

Sternbergh cleverly keeps the reader off-kilter with his characters and myriad twists in the plot. While the medical technology to wipe memories is given its due, Sternbergh wisely doesn’t linger on this subject.

Read Full Review of The Blinds | See more reviews from Washington Times

Toronto Star

Above average
Reviewed by Alex Good on Jul 28 2017

These philosophical questions are secondary, however, to the busy, action-filled plot. The Blinds is first and foremost a fun read, or really about half-a-dozen reads rolled together in one.

Read Full Review of The Blinds | See more reviews from Toronto Star

Rate this book!

Add Review
×