The Boleyn King by Laura Andersen
A Novel (Anne Boleyn Trilogy)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

Andersen debuts with an intriguing premise: What if Anne Boleyn gave birth to a living son in 1536? Andersen’s novel, alive with historical flair and drama, satisfies both curious and imaginative Tudor aficionados.
-RT Book Reviews

Synopsis

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY RT BOOK REVIEWS

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn King is the first book in an enthralling trilogy that dares to imagine: What if Anne Boleyn had actually given Henry VIII a son who grew up to be king?
 
Just seventeen years old, Henry IX, known as William, is a king bound by the restraints of the regency yet anxious to prove himself. With the French threatening battle and the Catholics sowing the seeds of rebellion at home, William trusts only three people: his older sister Elizabeth; his best friend and loyal counselor, Dominic; and Minuette, a young orphan raised as a royal ward by William’s mother, Anne Boleyn.
 
Against a tide of secrets, betrayal, and murder, William finds himself fighting for the very soul of his kingdom. Then, when he and Dominic both fall in love with Minuette, romantic obsession looms over a new generation of Tudors. One among them will pay the price for a king’s desire, as a shocking twist of fate changes England’s fortunes forever.
 
Includes a preview of Laura Andersen’s The Boleyn Deceit

Praise for The Boleyn King
 
“Imaginative . . . Andersen focuses on creating an exciting, action-driven plot containing strong doses of both intrigue and romance. Tudor-era historical fiction fans who are willing to accept the unusual premise will be rewarded with an original and entertaining read that’s reminiscent of the best of Philippa Gregory.”—Library Journal (starred review)
 
“Gripping . . . Andersen delves into an alternative Tudor England geared to rivet period fans and newcomers alike. . . . Perfect for Philippa Gregory fans.”—Booklist (starred review)
 
“A surprising gem and a thoroughly enjoyable read.”—Historical Novels Review
 
“Andersen’s novel, alive with historical flair and drama, satisfies both curious and imaginative Tudor aficionados. . . . Her multidimensional characters are so real that readers will wish it was history and eagerly await the next in the trilogy.”—RT Book Reviews (Top Pick)
 
“A wonderfully imaginative and well-written tale of intrigue, high court politics and desperate love.”—Deseret News
 
‘What if . . .’ With these tantalizing words, Laura Andersen creates a fresh and vividly realized alternative world where Anne Boleyn not only lives, but also gives birth to a healthy son who will become King. With the introduction of Minuette, Princess Elizabeth’s lady-in-waiting, we meet an extraordinary young woman who embodies love and loyalty, and who fights to find the humanity at the heart of the most glamorous—and dangerous—court in Europe.”—Susan Elia MacNeal, author of Mr. Churchill’s Secretary
 
“Full of intrigue, conspiracies, and the accurate details so essential to good historical fiction . . . Anyone who has even the slightest fascination with the Tudors will want to devour this delectable novel in a single sitting.”—Tasha Alexander, New York Times bestselling author of Death in the Floating City

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.


From the Trade Paperback edition.
 

About Laura Andersen

See more books from this Author
LAURA ANDERSEN possesses one husband, four children, and a constant sense of having forgotten something important. She has a B.A. in English (with an emphasis in British history) that she puts to non-profitable use by reading everything she can lay her hands on.


Author Residence: Boston, MA


Author Hometown: Wasatch Front, UT
 
Published May 14, 2013 by Ballantine Books. 370 pages
Genres: History, Romance, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Bookmark Counts:
2
Want to Read
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Boleyn King
All: 4 | Positive: 4 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on Mar 16 2013

An entertaining book for Tudor history buffs that's grounded in acute psychological and political insight.

Read Full Review of The Boleyn King: A Novel (Ann... | See more reviews from Kirkus

RT Book Reviews

Good

Andersen debuts with an intriguing premise: What if Anne Boleyn gave birth to a living son in 1536? Andersen’s novel, alive with historical flair and drama, satisfies both curious and imaginative Tudor aficionados.

Read Full Review of The Boleyn King: A Novel (Ann...

Deseret News

Good
on May 12 2013

Andersen weaves a wonderfully imaginative and well-written tale of intrigue, high court politics and desperate love in the first of a planned trilogy.

Read Full Review of The Boleyn King: A Novel (Ann...

Historical Novel Society

Good
on Jun 19 2013

This was a surprising gem and a thoroughly enjoyable read. I like my historical novels to be accurate, so I did not expect to like a novel that rewrites history, but it is always so hard to read Anne Boleyn’s story...

Read Full Review of The Boleyn King: A Novel (Ann...

Reader Rating for The Boleyn King
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 291 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

Kyla Bodoh

Kyla Bodoh 11 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

Karen Russo

Karen Russo 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

×