The Book of Joe by Jonathan Tropper

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 9 Critic Reviews



Right after high school, Joe Goffman left sleepy Bush Falls, Connecticut and never looked back. Then he wrote a novel savaging everything in town, a novel that became a national bestseller and a huge hit movie. Fifteen years later, Joe is struggling to avoid the sophomore slump with his next novel when he gets a call: his father's had a stroke, so it's back to Bush Falls for the town's most famous pariah. His brother avoids him, his former classmates beat him up, and the members of the book club just hurl their copies of Bush Falls at his house. But with the help of some old friends, Joe discovers that coming home isn't all bad—and that maybe the best things in life are second chances.

Fans of Nick Hornby and Jennifer Weiner will love this book, by turns howling funny, fiercely intelligent, and achingly poignant. As evidenced by The Book of Joe's success in both the foreign and movie markets, Jonathan Tropper has created a compelling, incredibly resonant story.

From the Hardcover edition.

About Jonathan Tropper

See more books from this Author
Jonathan Tropper is the author of One Last Thing Before I Go, How to Talk to a Widower, Everything Changes, The Book of Joe, and Plan B. He lives with his family in Westchester, New York, where he teaches writing at Manhattanville College. He is currently adapting This Is Where I Leave You as a feature film for Warner Brothers Studios and is a screenwriter, co-creator, and executive producer of the HBO/Cinemax television show Banshee (produced by alan Ball), premiering in 2013. 
Published March 30, 2004 by Bantam. 368 pages
Genres: Education & Reference, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Book of Joe

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

He returns as Joe Schmuck, disliked by all: Deputy Sheriff Mouse, ex-con Sean Tallon, and basketball star older brother Brad, among others, while finding himself tearfully still in love with high-school sweetheart Carly, who has a Harvard degree in journalism and edits the local paper.

| Read Full Review of The Book of Joe

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

After Joe Goffman's Bush Falls becomes a runaway bestseller, he never expects to go back to his small Connecticut hometown and face the outrage generated by the dark secrets his autobiographical novel reveals.

| Read Full Review of The Book of Joe

Book Reporter

Then there are Doug's sisters: his bossy twin, Clair, who's just left he husband and moved in with Doug, determined to rouse him from his Grieving stupor.

Jul 17 2007 | Read Full Review of The Book of Joe

Book Reporter

There to carry Joe through the wilderness of remorse and embarrassment is old friend Wayne Hargrove, whose love affair with Sammy the summer before senior year cost Sammy his life, Bush Falls the championship, and Joe nearly everything.

Jan 25 2005 | Read Full Review of The Book of Joe

AV Club

See more reviews from this publication

Family members come together, hate each other, remember the good times of old and the bad times that pushed them apart, deny responsibility, accept responsibility, and come to terms with one another in a way that might be temporary, but lasts long enough for some teary farewells.

Aug 13 2009 | Read Full Review of The Book of Joe

Entertainment Weekly

Originally posted Apr 09, 2004 Published in issue #759 Apr 09, 2004 Order article reprints

Apr 09 2004 | Read Full Review of The Book of Joe

USA Today

In another scene, the local book club tosses copies of Bush Falls on Joe's father's front lawn.But in some scenes, Joe is too disaffected, too emotionally distant.

| Read Full Review of The Book of Joe

Huntington News

What surprises him is that his father's dying request was for the family to observe the traditional seven days and seven nights of Orthodox Jewish mourning, sitting shiva in the family house, being on hand to welcome drive-by mourners in Jonathan Tropper's "This Is Where I Leave You" (Plume Pape...

Jul 07 2010 | Read Full Review of The Book of Joe

MostlyFiction Book Reviews

It is one of the best books I have read this year and a book I intend to give to many of my friends and family members.

Sep 23 2009 | Read Full Review of The Book of Joe

Reader Rating for The Book of Joe

An aggregated and normalized score based on 329 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review