The Burning Bridge by John Flanagan
(Ranger's Apprentice, Book 2)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

It all adds up to a winning formula that should prove out to a long, steady run for this above average series.


The international bestselling series with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. alone!

For years, the Kingdom of Araluen has prospered, with the evil lord Morgarath safely behind the impassable mountains. For years, its people have felt secure. but the scheming hand of the dark lord has not been idle. . . . on a special mission for the rangers, will and his friend Horace, an apprentice knight, travel to a neighboring village and discover the unsettling truth: All the villagers have either been slain or captured. but why? Could it be that Morgarath has finally devised a plan to bring his legions over the supposedly insurmountable pass? if so, the king?s army is in imminent danger of being crushed in a fierce ambush. And will and Horace are the only ones who can save them.

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

About John Flanagan

See more books from this Author
John Flanagan grew up in Sydney, Australia, hoping to be a writer. John began writing Ranger's Apprentice for his son, Michael, ten years ago, and is still hard at work on the series and its spinoff, Brotherband Chronicles. He currently lives in the suburb of Manly, Australia, with his wife. In addition to their son, they have two grown daughters and four grandsons.
Published June 8, 2006 by Puffin Books. 284 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Burning Bridge
All: 4 | Positive: 3 | Negative: 1


Reviewed by Kirkus Reviews on May 20 2010

It all adds up to a winning formula that should prove out to a long, steady run for this above average series.

Read Full Review of The Burning Bridge (Ranger's ... | See more reviews from Kirkus


Below average
Reviewed by Laura Lehman on Jan 01 2008

I see too much predictability in the plot to be overly impressed. The true strength of John Flanagan's series is the characters, but even they give in to common themes.

Read Full Review of The Burning Bridge (Ranger's ...


Above average
Reviewed by Sarah A. Wood on Jun 26 2008

Ranger's Apprentice is more in line with Tolkien than Rowling, but its racing plot and likable characters offer fantasy fans a new series to read and love.

Read Full Review of The Burning Bridge (Ranger's ...

Teen Ink

Reviewed by Vincent P. on Jan 01 2008

I really enjoyed Flanagan's style of writing in this book. . . . I can't wait to read the next book in the series because the author ended the book with a cliffhanger.

Read Full Review of The Burning Bridge (Ranger's ...

Reader Rating for The Burning Bridge

An aggregated and normalized score based on 803 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review