The Burning by Jane Casey

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 12 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

A determined young police constable goes it alone against an enigmatic killer and her bosses in a series debut for fans of Sophie Hannah and Tana French

The Burning Man. It’s the name the media has given a brutal murderer who has beaten four young women to death before setting their bodies ablaze in secluded areas of London’s parks. And now there’s a fifth.

Maeve Kerrigan is an ambitious detective constable, keen to make her mark on the murder task force. Her male colleagues believe Maeve’s empathy makes her weak, but the more she learns about the latest victim, Rebecca Haworth, from her grieving friends and family, the more determined Maeve becomes to bring her murderer to justice. But how do you catch a killer no one has seen when so much of the evidence has gone up in smoke?

Maeve’s frenetic hunt for a killer in Jane Casey’s gripping series debut will entrance even the most jaded suspense readers.

 

About Jane Casey

See more books from this Author
JANE CASEY was born and raised in Dublin. A graduate of Oxford with a masters in philosophy from Trinity College, Dublin, she lives in London where she works as an editor. This is her second novel.
 
Published August 30, 2011 by Minotaur Books. 368 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Bookmark Counts:
1
Have Read

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Burning

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Chief Superintendent Godley encourages Maeve to delve into Rebecca’s past, which includes a cocaine addiction, a touch of blackmail and an obsession with a young man who drowned at Oxford.

Sep 01 2011 | Read Full Review of The Burning

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Irish author Casey's impressive series debut, a taut serial killer thriller, delves deeply into the psyches of three women, each dealing with identity and self-esteem issues.

Jul 18 2011 | Read Full Review of The Burning

Book Reporter

The deeper Kerrigan digs into Haworth’s life, the more she discovers that Haworth was different, and somewhat contradictory, things to many different people, including a former boyfriend, her professors, her former employer, her parents, and, most significantly, North herself.

Sep 20 2011 | Read Full Review of The Burning

The Bookbag

The intertwining stories of Rebecca and Louise alongside Maeve (all of a similar age) also makes for entertaining reading.

Jan 04 2011 | Read Full Review of The Burning

Reviewing the Evidence

In this first novel of what promises to be a noteworthy procedural series, Detective Constable Maeve Kerrigan is trying to fit into an all-male London homicide squad.

| Read Full Review of The Burning

Look At OKC

At the moment, the team is trying to find an attacker whom the papers have dubbed the Burning Man.

Nov 27 2011 | Read Full Review of The Burning

Independent.ie

THE eighth in Jo Nesbo's Harry Hole series, The Leopard, opens with Oslo crime squad detective Hole wallowing in the squalor of a Hong Kong opium haze.

Mar 20 2011 | Read Full Review of The Burning

Independent.ie

Detective Constable Maeve Kerrigan is the only female police officer on the crack team charged with hunting down a vicious serial killer the media have dubbed 'The Burning Man'.

Nov 27 2010 | Read Full Review of The Burning

Chron.com

Successful British writer Jane Casey makes her U.S. debut with The Burning, featuring London detective constable Maeve Kerrigan.

Sep 04 2011 | Read Full Review of The Burning

Mysterious Reviews

Review: Detective Constable Maeve Kerrigan is assigned to an on-going investigation into identifying a serial killer, but she's not convinced the latest victim fits the pattern, in The Burning, the first mystery in this series by Jane Casey.

| Read Full Review of The Burning

True Crime Book Reviews

Make sure The Burning by Jane Casey is on your Winter fiction list.

Nov 11 2011 | Read Full Review of The Burning

High Voltage

The Burning is the first installment in the Maeve Kerrigan series and is the second mystery book by Jane Casey.

| Read Full Review of The Burning

Reader Rating for The Burning
77%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 100 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

User Review

Leiah Cooper 9 Jun 2014

First, to get this out there, I love British police procedurals. They are normally crisp, compelling and well written. The Burning is a premier example of the best the genre has to offer. Written f...

Full Review
Leiah Cooper

Leiah Cooper 9 Jun 2014

Liked the book

Leiah Cooper

Leiah Cooper 9 Jun 2014

Has read the book

×