The Butterfly by Patricia Polacco

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Since the Tall Boots--the Nazis--have marched into Monique's small French village, terrorizing it, nothing surprises her. Until the night Monique encounters "the little ghost" sitting at the end of her bed. When she turns out to be--not a ghost at all--but a young girl named Sevrine, who has been hiding from the Nazis in Monique's own basement, how could Monique not be surprised! Playing upstairs after dark, the two become friends until, in a terrifying moment, they are discovered, sending both of their families into a nighttime flight. In the tradition of Pink and Say, Patricia Polacco once again dips into her own family's history to reveal her Aunt Monique's true story of friendship from the French Resistance.
 

About Patricia Polacco

See more books from this Author
Patricia Polacco has written and illustrated many highly acclaimed books, including "Some Birthday, " an IRA/CBC Children's Choice book and a Parents' Choice Award winner. Among other honors she has received are the International Reading Association Award for "Rechenka's Eggs, " the Sydney Taylor Book Award for "The Keeping Quilt, " and the Children's Literature and Social Responsibility Award for the overall excellence of her work. She lives in Oakland, California, with her husband and two children.
 
Published June 1, 1972 by Spoken Arts. 48 pages
Genres: Children's Books, Literature & Fiction, Biographies & Memoirs, History, Travel. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Butterfly

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

“They laughed and giggled, and told each other their dreams.” Although frightened by the presence of Nazi soldiers in her village, their friendship grows, and Monique brings gifts to Serine from the outside world: rich soil, a bright flower, and finally a real wonder, a butterfly.

| Read Full Review of The Butterfly

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Her sympathies are quickly focused: one night Monique wakes up to discover a girl in her bedroom and learns that she and her parents, Jews, have been hiding for months in Monique's house, protected by Monique's mother.

| Read Full Review of The Butterfly

Reader Rating for The Butterfly
92%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 27 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review