The Capybara Conspiracy by Erica S. Perl
A Novel in Three Acts

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

Staged over three acts, Perl’s novel zips along thanks to all the back-and-forth dialogue, and is well suited to be performed. An unexpected ending and comprehensive notes on how to stage the play round out an amusing tale.
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

Fans of Tim Federle and Louis Sachar will love this hilarious story of what happens when the non-jocks kidnap their sports-obsessed school’s beloved mascot.
 
Seventh-grade playwright Olive Henry is frustrated by her middle school’s lack of appreciation for anything but sports. While the principal drones on and on during morning announcements about the sports teams’ victories, all non-athletic club meetings are relegated to the school basement, never to be mentioned on the loudspeaker. So Olive and her best friend, Reynaldo, hatch a plan to kidnap the school’s capybara mascot, planning to return it, heroically, just in time for the school’s pep rally and claim a reward: permission for their drama club to practice in the auditorium. And, hopefully, some overdue respect for the school’s non-athletes. But when an animal-rights student activist and an undercover athlete with murky motivations join in the conspiracy, their plans—along with Cappy the capybara—veer wildly out of Olive’s control.
 

About Erica S. Perl

See more books from this Author
Erica S. Perl is the author of several books for young readers, including DOTTY, CHICKEN BEDTIME IS REALLY EARLY, and the well-loved CHICKEN BUTT! books. Erica lives in Washington D.C. with her family, but you can visit her at www.ericaperl.com.Jackie Urbanovic is the author and illustrator of the Max the duck series which includes two NEW YORK TIMES bestsellers, Duck at the Door and Duck Soup. She lives in Silver Spring, Maryland, and shares her studio with two playful dogs and one lovable cat. You can visit her online at www.jackieurbanovic.com.
 
Published October 11, 2016 by Knopf Books for Young Readers. 192 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Capybara Conspiracy
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on Jul 02 2016

A seventh-grader’s play chronicles the rise and demise of a kidnapping plot and the contradictory motives of the conspirators...Humorous and cleverly constructed, this deserves a “hoof five.”

Read Full Review of The Capybara Conspiracy: A No... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Good
on Jun 21 2017

Staged over three acts, Perl’s novel zips along thanks to all the back-and-forth dialogue, and is well suited to be performed. An unexpected ending and comprehensive notes on how to stage the play round out an amusing tale.

Read Full Review of The Capybara Conspiracy: A No... | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly
×