The Cardinals by Bessie Head
With Meditations and Short Stories (African Writers Series)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



Intense personal experience of South Africa's brutal social system, a sense of stifled creativity, and a distaste for politics made Bessie Head leave for Botswana on an exit permit at the age of 27. There, in her chosen rural haven of Serowe, and despite a severe mental breakdown, she wrote novels and stories that earned her international recognition as one of Africa's most remarkable and individual writers.

The publication at last of The Cardinals--thought to be the first long piece of fiction Head produced and the only one she ever set in South Africa--is an exciting literary event.

After a childhood of poverty and abuse in the slums of Cape Town, the protagonist unexpectedly lands a job as a reporter in the offices of African Beat. She is too withdrawn to flourish in her new world and struggles to find her identity as a woman and a writer against the muckraking demanded by her editors and the sexism of the newsroom. Johnny believes in her, but his faith carries its own dangers. Questions of origins, identity, sexuality, writing, love, revenge, and politics unite to propel the characters to joy while disaster waits.

The seven short pieces of fiction included in this volume come from the years immediately after Bessie Head went to Botswana. Among them is "Earth Love," which she called the "goddam best bit of writing I ever did."


About Bessie Head

See more books from this Author
BESSIE HEAD, one of Africa's best known writers, was born in South Africa but spent much of her life in Botswana. She died tragically early, in 1986, leaving behind her a fine collection of literary works. Tales of Tenderness and Power was the first of her works to be published after her death, and another anthology, A Woman Alone, has also been published posthumously. Both these titles reinforce Bessie Head's literary achievements, already evident in her novels Maru, When Rain clouds Gather, The Cardinals, A Collector of Treasures, A Question of Power, and her historical account Serowe: Village of the Rain Wind, which are all available in the Heinemann African Writer Series.
Published December 31, 1993 by David Philip, Publishers. 192 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Cardinals

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

For the first time in book form, a posthumous novella plus seven very short pieces by noted black South African writer Head- -stories that are generally more suggestive of ideas to be developed later than works that stand on their own.

| Read Full Review of The Cardinals: With Meditatio...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Although South African writer Head (When Rain Clouds Gather) may have been ahead of her time in the 1960s, when she wrote the title novella and the accompanying seven short pieces set in South Africa, they have not aged well.

| Read Full Review of The Cardinals: With Meditatio...

Rate this book!

Add Review