The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls by Claire Legrand

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 5 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

At the Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, you will definitely learn your lesson. An atmospheric, heartfelt, and delightfully spooky novel for fans of Coraline, Splendors and Glooms, and The Mysterious Benedict Society.

Victoria hates nonsense. There is no need for it when your life is perfect. The only smudge on her pristine life is her best friend Lawrence. He is a disaster—lazy and dreamy, shirt always untucked, obsessed with his silly piano. Victoria often wonders why she ever bothered being his friend. (Lawrence does, too.)

But then Lawrence goes missing. And he’s not the only one. Victoria soon discovers that The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls is not what it appears to be. Kids go in but come out…different. Or they don’t come out at all.

If anyone can sort this out, it’s Victoria—even if it means getting a little messy.
 

About Claire Legrand

See more books from this Author
Claire Legrand used to be a musician until she realized she couldn’t stop thinking about the stories in her head. Now a writer, Ms. Legrand can often be found typing with purpose at her keyboard, losing herself in the stacks at her local library, or embarking upon spontaneous adventures to lands unknown. Her first novel is The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, a New York Public Library Best Book for Children in 2012. She is also the author of The Year of Shadows. Claire lives in New Jersey with a dragon and two cats. Vist her at Claire-Legrand.com.Sarah Watts is an illustrator of fabric lines, books, and other printed delights. She is married to an adventure junkie and she collects old treasures. Sarah is also the Alumni Board of Trustee member for Ringling College of Art and Design (RACD).
 
Published August 28, 2012 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers. 354 pages
Genres: Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Victoria is challenged by a full array of terror-tale tropes, from disoriented feelings that things are “not quite right” and “[s]harp, invisible sensations, like reaching fingers” to dark passageways lined with rustling roaches and breakfast casseroles with chunks of…meat.

Aug 22 2012 | Read Full Review of The Cavendish Home for Boys a...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Victoria unravels the mystery behind the titular home for children, which is run by the ageless Mrs. Cavendish and a fiendish gardener/assistant.

Oct 22 2012 | Read Full Review of The Cavendish Home for Boys a...

City Book Review

Victoria likes to have things “just so.” Her hair is “just so,” her room is “just so,” her grades are “just so,” her life is “just so.” So when she sees Lawrence, one of her classmates, with his hair in black and white stripes, his shirt untucked, in other words, not “just so,” she decides to fix...

Nov 06 2012 | Read Full Review of The Cavendish Home for Boys a...

KidsReads

A little scary, a little eerie, a little funny, a little sweet, it’s a spectacular debut novel."

Aug 25 2012 | Read Full Review of The Cavendish Home for Boys a...

Bookalicious

But something about The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls hooked me and I could not stop reading, no matter how many times Claire Legrand mentioned bugs and things that otherwise give me the goosebumps.

Sep 18 2012 | Read Full Review of The Cavendish Home for Boys a...

Reader Rating for The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls
83%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 83 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×