The Child Thief by Dan Smith
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

Mr. Smith has produced a straightforward, beautifully written thriller about surviving hardships against all odds with honor and humanity while facing both human and natural brutality.
-NY Journal of Books

Synopsis

In the tradition of City of Thieves and Child 44, a troubled First World War veteran races across the frozen steppe of 1930s Ukraine to save a child from a shadowy killer with unthinkable plans

Luka is a war veteran who now wants only to have a quiet life with his family. His village has, so far, remained hidden from the advancing Soviet brutality. But everything changes the day the stranger arrives, pulling a sled bearing a terrible cargo. When the villagers’ fear turns deadly, they think they have saved themselves. But their anger has cursed them: in the chaos, a little girl has vanished. Luka is the only man with the skills to find out who could have stolen a child in these frozen lands—and besides, the missing girl is best friend to Luka’s daughter. He swears he will find her. Together with his sons, Luka sets out in pursuit across lands ravaged by war and gripped by treachery. Soon they realize that the man they are tracking is no ordinary criminal, but a skillful hunter with the child as the bait in his twisted game. It will take all of Luka’s strength to battle the harshest of conditions, and all of his wit to stay a step ahead of Soviet authorities. And though his toughest enemy is the man he tracks, his strongest bond is a promise to his family back home.
 

About Dan Smith

See more books from this Author
For the first eighteen years of his life Dan Smith followed his parents across the world to Africa, Asia and South America. Since turning to fiction, he's had a number of short stories published and his debut novel, Dry Season, shortlisted for a Brit's Writers' award and the Authors' Club prize for Best First Novel. He lives in Newcastle with his family. Find out more about Dan, his novels and the places that inspire them at www.dansmithbooks.com
 
Published June 4, 2013 by Pegasus Books. 366 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Crime, War, History. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Child Thief
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

Publishers Weekly

Excellent
on Apr 08 2013

From the arresting opening to the tense finale, Smith doesn’t hit a false note in this captivating tale of the power of the human spirit when pushed to the brink.

Read Full Review of The Child Thief: A Novel | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

NY Journal of Books

Good
Reviewed by Carolyn Haley on Jun 01 2013

Mr. Smith has produced a straightforward, beautifully written thriller about surviving hardships against all odds with honor and humanity while facing both human and natural brutality.

Read Full Review of The Child Thief: A Novel | See more reviews from NY Journal of Books

Reader Rating for The Child Thief
87%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 142 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review