The Christmas List by Richard Paul Evans
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 5 Critic Reviews



A heartwarming and inspirational Christmas novel in the tradition of The Christmas Box, Grace, The Gift, and Finding Noel. The New York Times bestselling author of The Christmas Box and The Walk series returns with a holiday novel of hope, love, and redemption.

Dear Reader,

When I was in seventh grade, my English teacher, Mrs. Johnson, gave our class the intriguing (if somewhat macabre) assignment of writing our own obituaries. Oddly, I don't remember much of what I wrote about my life, but I do remember how I died: in first place on the final lap of the Daytona 500. At the time, I hadn't considered writing as an occupation, a field with a remarkably low on-the-job casualty rate.

What intrigues me most about Mrs. Johnson's assignment is the opportunity she gave us to confront our own legacy. How do we want to be remembered? That question has motivated our species since the beginning of time: from building pyramids to putting our names on skyscrapers.

As I began to write this book, I had two objectives: First, I wanted to explore what could happen if someone read their obituary before they died and saw, firsthand, what the world really thought of them. Their legacy.

Second, I wanted to write a Christmas story of true redemption. One of my family's holiday traditions is to see a local production of Charles Dickens's A Christmas Carol. I don't know how many times I've seen it (perhaps a dozen), but it still thrills me to see the change that comes over Ebenezer Scrooge as he transforms from a dull, tight-fisted miser into a penitent, "giddy-as-aschoolboy" man with love in his heart. I always leave the show with a smile on my face and a resolve to be a better person. That's what I wanted to share with you, my dear readers, this Christmas -- a holiday tale to warm your season, your homes, and your hearts.

Merry Christmas

About Richard Paul Evans

See more books from this Author
Richard Paul Evans is the number one international bestselling author of The Christmas Box and seventeen consecutive New York Times bestsellers. He is also the winner of the American Mothers Book Award and two first-place Storytelling World Awards.
Published September 22, 2009 by Simon & Schuster. 372 pages
Genres: Self Help, Literature & Fiction, Religion & Spirituality. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Christmas List

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In the long-ago world of Evans's (The Christmas Box) message-driven tale, the high point of Christmas is not a visit from Santa, but the lighting of the Christmas flame in the mountain "Christmas town" of Noel.

| Read Full Review of The Christmas List: A Novel

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

BOMC, QPB, BOMC Homestyle Book Club, BOMC Craft Books Club, BOMC Children's Book Club alternates;

| Read Full Review of The Christmas List: A Novel

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Evans returns to his hit series with this latest story of one unfortunate soul whose life seems to be falling to shambles around him after he reads his own obituary in the newspaper three weeks before Christmas.

| Read Full Review of The Christmas List: A Novel

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

Reminiscent of Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol, The Christmas List focuses on a greedy and greatly disliked businessman, whose only goal in life is to make money and climb the ladder of success.

Nov 12 2009 | Read Full Review of The Christmas List: A Novel


Since I cannot be serenaded 24/7 by Christmas jams on the radio or in the mall, and I dont have the option of watching Bad Santa on FX or spending 24 straight hours watching The Christmas Story on TBS, I decided I needed to fill myself with the Christmas cheer in a more accessible-to-Afghanistan ...

Dec 22 2009 | Read Full Review of The Christmas List: A Novel

Reader Rating for The Christmas List

An aggregated and normalized score based on 177 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review