The Codex by Douglas Preston

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 7 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

"Greetings from the dead," declares Maxwell Broadbent on the videotape he left behind after his mysterious disappearance. A notorious treasure hunter and tomb robber, Broadbent accumulated over a half a billion dollars' worth of priceless art, gems, and artifacts before vanishing---along with his entire collection---from his mansion in New Mexico.

At first, robbery is suspected, but the truth proves far stranger: As a final challenge to his three sons, Broadbent has buried himself and his treasure somewhere in the world, hidden away like an ancient Egyptian pharaoh. If the sons wish to claim their fabulous inheritance, they must find their father's carefully concealed tomb.

The race is on, but the three brothers are not the only ones competing for the treasure. This secret is so astounding it cannot be kept quiet for long. With half a billion dollars at stake, as well as an ancient Mayan codex that may hold a cure for cancer and other deadly diseases, others soon join the hunt---and some of them will stop at nothing to claim the grave goods.
The bestselling coauthor of such page-turning thrillers as Relic and The Cabinet of Curiosities, Douglas Preston now spins an unforgettable tale of greed, adventure, and betrayal.

At the publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management software (DRM) applied.

 

About Douglas Preston

See more books from this Author
The thrillers of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child "stand head and shoulders above their rivals" (Publisher's Weekly). Coauthors of the famed Pendergast series, their books Relic and The Cabinet of Curiosities were chosen by readers in a National Public Radio poll as being among the 100 greatest thrillers ever written, and Relic was made into a number one box office hit movie. They are also the authors of Fever Dream, Cold Vengeance and Gideon's Sword. Preston's acclaimed nonfiction book, The Monster of Florence, is being made into a movie starring George Clooney. Lincoln Child is a former book editor who has published four novels of his own, including the huge bestseller Deep Storm. The authors welcome e-mail from their readers; you can visit their website at www.prestonchild.com.
 
Published April 1, 2007 by Forge Books. 416 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction, Crime. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Codex

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Preston usually coauthors with Lincoln Child (Thunderhead, 1999, etc.) but this time solos.

May 20 2010 | Read Full Review of The Codex

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Half of the writing team responsible for Relic , The Cabinet of Curiosities and other adventure bestsellers takes a solo fligh

Dec 22 2003 | Read Full Review of The Codex

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Half of the writing team responsible for Relic , The Cabinet of Curiosities and other adventure bestsellers takes a solo flight, as Preston's writing partner, Lincoln Child, did in last year's Utopia .

| Read Full Review of The Codex

Book Reporter

Together Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child have written --- in my.

Dec 08 2003 | Read Full Review of The Codex

USA Today

Treasure hunter disappears, leaving clues to mysterious findings.

Apr 14 2005 | Read Full Review of The Codex

Reviewing the Evidence

[ Home ].

Feb 05 2013 | Read Full Review of The Codex

Nights and Weekends

Fans of Indiana Jones and Lara Croft will thoroughly enjoy Douglas Preston's novel The Codex.

| Read Full Review of The Codex

Reader Rating for The Codex
77%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 374 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×