The Collected Bartleby and James Adventures by Michael Coorlim

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


These stories are also available in the Steampunk Omnibus, which contains all 9 Galvanic Century novelettes and novellas. Save 50% by buying the collection:

Alton Bartleby is a social savant and the foppish toast of steampunk London's upper crust. James Wainwright is a brilliant but socially stunted working class engineer with a flair for invention and a propensity towards violence. Together they solve the mysteries that Scotland Yard cannot.

This collection contains the first four Galvanic Century series novellas: "And They Called Her Spider," "Maiden Voyage of the Rio Grande," "On the Trail of the Scissorman," and "A Matter of Spirit."

Praise for The Collected Bartleby and James Adventures:

"It took Michael Coorlim only a few lines to hook me due to his eloquent while not overly florid style... [the stories are] swift, intriguing and ingenious, plus there is a pertinent social commentary that drives each of them. A brilliant work indeed!"

"I am literally chomping at the bit for more."

"This is one of the better steampunk series I've read. It has some nicely grotesque moments and strange science and technology, satisfying mysteries, well-done characterization, some nice appearances by characters from other works of literature"

"The author is a clearly skilled wordsmith as evidenced by the clear images brought forth in the telling."

About Michael Coorlim

See more books from this Author
Even before he could write Michael Coorlim was filling up spiral notebooks with stories, picture books presented to his grandparents as gifts, and performing small plays with his younger cousins for relatives during holiday gatherings. This love of storytelling stayed with him as he grew older, slumbering like an unawakened beast, sending him strange and terrifying dreams during his adolescence.Even when not writing he feasted on the words of authors like Kurt Vonnegut, Terry Pratchet, Douglas Adams, and Ray Bradbury, spending so much time reading from hidden books in the middle of his middle school classes that his grades began to suffer. He'd sneak home with books that his teachers never assigned, and gorge on their contents overnight, and return them stealthily the next day only to take another.Though a prolific writer he found the prospect and process of traditional publication daunting, often preparing query letters and researching markets only to never get around to submitting any of his work. It wasn't until he reached his thirties that he took the steps to write professionally, and by then the self-publishing revolution had already begun.Michael currently lives in the city of Chicago with his girlfriend and their cat, living his childhood dream of supporting himself as an author of fast-paced character-driven fiction about authentic people in fantastic situations.
Published December 21, 2012 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. 108 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, War, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Reader Rating for The Collected Bartleby and James Adventures

An aggregated and normalized score based on 9 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review