The Collected Mystery Stories by Lawrence Block

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



This omnibus edition contains 58 stories previously uncollected in the UK, plus 12 additional stories. The collection features many of Block's best-loved characters, including Matt Scudder (eight stories), Ehrengraf (nine stories), Chip Harrison (two stories) and Bernie Rhodenbarr (three stories).

About Lawrence Block

See more books from this Author
Lawrence Block is the author of the popular series' featuring Bernie Rhodenbarr, Matthew Scudder, and Chip Harrison. Over 2 million copies of Lawrence Block's books are in print. He has published articles and short fiction in American Heritage, Redbook, Playboy, GQ, and The New York Times, and has published several collections of short fiction in book form, most recently Collected Mystery Stories. Block is a Grand Master of Mystery Writers of America. He has won the Edgar and Shamus awards four times, the Japanese Maltese Falcon award twice, as well as the Nero Wolfe award. In France, he was proclaimed a Grand Maitre du Roman Noir and has been awarded the Societe 813 trophy twice. Block was presented with the key to the city of Muncie, Indiana, and is a past president of the Private Eye Writers of America and the Mystery Writers of America.
Published August 1, 2000 by Orion Books Ltd. 754 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Crime. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Collected Mystery Stories

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

But Block sweetens the pot with several variable hardcover debuts, including one new story apiece about burglar/bookseller Bernie Rhodenbarr (a clever but transparent locked room), Nero Wolfe wannabe Leo Haig and his sidekick Chip Harrison (a charming in-joke for mystery buffs), genially unscrupu...

| Read Full Review of The Collected Mystery Stories

Reader Rating for The Collected Mystery Stories

An aggregated and normalized score based on 6 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review