The Collected Poems of Wilfred Owen by Wilfred Owen
(New Directions Book)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



“The very content of Owen’s poems was, and still is, pertinent to the feelings of young men facing death and the terrors of war.” —The New York Times Book Review

Wilfred Owen was twenty-two when he enlisted in the Artists’ Rifle Corps during World War I. By the time Owen was killed at the age of 25 at the Battle of Sambre, he had written what are considered the most important British poems of WWI. This definitive edition is based on manuscripts of Owen’s papers in the British Museum and other archives.

About Wilfred Owen

See more books from this Author
Cecil Day Lewis was an Irish lyric poet and critic who also wrote bestselling detective stories under the name of Nicholas Blake. Born in 1904 to a clergyman father, he attended Oxford University. After college, he was a schoolmaster and director of a publishing firm. Day Lewis became interested in and joined the Communist Party, only to renounce it in 1939. He worked in the Ministry of Information during World War II. He later taught at Oxford, Cambridge, and Harvard universities. His works include Transitional Poems, A Hope for Poetry, and The Poetic Impulse. He is also widely recognized for his translation of The Aeneid. Cecil Day Lewis's autobiography The Buried Day was published in 1960. He died in 1972.
Published January 17, 1965 by New Directions. 192 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Collected Poems of Wilfred Owen

Guys Lit Wire

While his body of work is tiny--only about forty poems and a few fragments, most written during his recovery from shell shock--he's come to be seen as a great war poet whose images still have the power to jolt ninety years later."All the poet can do to-day is to warn," Owen once wrote.

Nov 17 2009 | Read Full Review of The Collected Poems of Wilfre...

Reader Rating for The Collected Poems of Wilfred Owen

An aggregated and normalized score based on 12 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review