The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge by Vernor Vinge

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews



Since his first published story, "Apartness," appeared in 1965, Vernor Vinge has forged a unique and awe-inspiring career in science fiction as his work has grown and matured. He is now one of the most celebrated science fiction writers in the field , having won the field's top award, the Hugo, for each of his last two novels.

Now, for the first time, this illustrious author gathers all his short fiction into a single volume. This collection is truly the definitive Vinge, capturing his visionary ideas at their very best. It also contains a never-before-published novella, one that represents precisely what this collection encapsulates--bold, unique, challenging science fictional ideas brought to vivid life with compelling storytelling.

Including such major pieces as "The Ungoverned" and "The Blabber," this sumptuous volume will satisfy any reader who loves the sense of wonder, and the excitement of great SF.

At the publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management software (DRM) applied.


About Vernor Vinge

See more books from this Author
Vernor Vinge has won five Hugo Awards, including one for each of his last three novels, A Fire Upon the Deep (1992), A Deepness in the Sky (1999), and Rainbow's End (2006). Known for his rigorous hard-science approach to his science fiction, he became an iconic figure among cybernetic scientists with the publication in 1981 of his novella "True Names," which is considered a seminal, visionary work of Internet fiction. His many books also include Marooned in Realtime and The Peace War. Born in Waukesha, Wisconsin and raised in Central Michigan, Vinge is the son of geographers. Fascinated by science and particularly computers from an early age, he has a Ph.D. in computer science, and taught mathematics and computer science at San Diego State University for thirty years. He has gained a great deal of attention both here and abroad for his theory of the coming machine intelligence Singularity. Sought widely as a speaker to both business and scientific groups, he lives in San Diego, California.
Published August 17, 2002 by Tor Books. 468 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Though Vinge self-effacingly dismisses it as a “most irritating combination of embarrassing gaffes and neat insights,” the story forms a subtext for others that follow, asking to what extent science fiction can be rooted in scientific truths (which Vinge believes lead to unpredictable paradoxes) ...

| Read Full Review of The Collected Stories of Vern...

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge Souvenir Press, £14.99 This volume gathers 17 stories and novellas published between 1965 and 2001, and represents all of Vinge's short fiction bar five pieces.

Jul 23 2008 | Read Full Review of The Collected Stories of Vern...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

A Deepness in the Sky), Vinge, a mathematician and computer scientist, began his writing career with short stories, most of which are gathered in this not quite definitive collection (where are cyberpunk precursor "True Names" and "Grimm's Story"?), along with one new entry, the pop culture–weigh...

| Read Full Review of The Collected Stories of Vern...

The Best Reviews

Vernor Vinge has won several wards for his novels (A DEEPNESS IN THE SKY), and over the last three and a half decades has also produced some of the best science fiction short stories.

Dec 23 2001 | Read Full Review of The Collected Stories of Vern...

Reader Rating for The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge

An aggregated and normalized score based on 29 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review