The Collected Works of John Cheever by John Cheever

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


Here, for his centennial, is the definitive two-volume edition of the stories and novels of John Cheever. The first volume, Collected Stories and Other Writings, combines the Pulitzer Prize–winning collection The Stories of John Cheever with seven selections—here restored to print—from Cheever’s first book, The Way Some People Live (1943) and seven additional stories first published in periodicals between 1930 and 1953. The second, Complete Novels, presents all five of Cheever’s novels: The Wapshot Chronicle (winner of the National Book Award); The Wapshot Scandal (winner of the William Dean Howells Medal); Bullet Park; Falconer; and Oh What a Paradise It Seems.

About John Cheever

See more books from this Author
Blake Bailey, editor, is the author of A Tragic Honesty: The Life and Work of Richard Yates and Cheever: A Life, winner of the 2009 National Book Critics Circle Award.
Published April 26, 2012 by Library of America. 1973 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction