The Color of Earth by Dong Hwa Kim

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 5 Critic Reviews



First love is never easy. 


Ehwa grows up helping her widowed mother run the local tavern, watching as their customers – both neighbors and strangers – look down on her mother for her single lifestyle.  Their social status isolates Ehwa and her mother from the rest of the people in their quiet country village.  But as she gets older and sees her mother fall in love again, Ehwa slowly begins to open up to the possibility of love in her life.


In the tradition of My Antonia and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, from the pen of the renowned Korean manwha creator Kim Dong Hwa, comes a trilogy about a girl coming of age, set in the vibrant, beautiful landscape of pastoral Korea. 


About Dong Hwa Kim

See more books from this Author
Kim Dong Hwa is the author of many graphic novels – or manwha, as they are called in Korea, where he lives.  His books include the popular work My Sky and the literary piece The Red Bicycle . 
Published March 31, 2009 by First Second. 320 pages
Genres: Comics & Graphic Novels, Romance, Young Adult, History, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Color of Earth

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

The final—and best—installment of manhwa artist Kim’s moving trilogy chronicling the coming of age of a girl in pastoral Korea, based loosely on his mother’s own youth.

Sep 15 2009 | Read Full Review of The Color of Earth

All About Romance

See more reviews from this publication

The Color of Water, the second book, shows an older Ehwa falling in love with a handsome local laborer, and in the third book, The Color of Heaven , the two women wait for the men they love and plan Ehwa’s wedding.

Jul 01 2014 | Read Full Review of The Color of Earth

Book Reporter

Although Dong Hwa Kim’s protagonist in The Color of Earth, the first book of a nostalgic Korean manhwa trilogy,is a sweet-faced young girl, it’s emphatically not for children.

Mar 31 2009 | Read Full Review of The Color of Earth

Book Forum

His essays and reviews have appeared in the Comics Journal and Comics Comics.

Jul 29 2009 | Read Full Review of The Color of Earth

Graphic Novel Reporter

It’s like a Korean costume drama in two-dimensions…save that costume dramas on television typically depict the lives of the privileged, while the protagonist of the Colors Trilogy is a girl of very modest means and ambitions.

| Read Full Review of The Color of Earth

Reader Rating for The Color of Earth

An aggregated and normalized score based on 10 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review