The Completionist by Siobhan Adcock

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

“The Completionist” is the best kind of speculative fiction, smart and sharp. Its themes and ideas challenge readers while the narrative and characterizations capture and hold their imagination ... Powerful and thoughtful, this is a book that will stick in your synapses long after the last page is turned.
-The Maine Edge

Synopsis

Included in Entertainment Weekly’s “10 prescient new feminist dystopias to read after The Handmaid's Tale."

“Find her. You need to keep looking, no matter what. I'm afraid of what might’ve happened to her. You be afraid too.”

After months of disturbing behavior, Gardner Quinn has vanished. Her older sister Fredericka is desperate to find her, but Fred is also pregnant—miraculously so, in a near-future America struggling with infertility. So she entrusts the job to their brother, Carter.

Carter, young but jaded, is in need of an assignment. Just home from war, his search for his sister is a welcome distraction from mysterious physical symptoms he can’t ignore...and his slightly-more-than recreational drinking.

Carter’s efforts to find Gardner lead him into a dangerous underground, where he begins to grasp the risks she took on as a Nurse Completionist. But his investigation also leads back to their father, a veteran of a decades-long war just like Carter himself, who may be concealing a painful truth, one that neither Carter nor Fredericka is ready to face.

In the tradition of The Handmaid’s Tale, The Completionist is speculative fiction at its very best: imaginative and propulsive, revealing our own world in bold and unexpected ways.
 

About Siobhan Adcock

See more books from this Author
A competent twenty-something (though she can’t drive a stick shift), SIOBHAN ADCOCK has written for numerous sites and zines, including iVillage and Nerve, and was an editor at Anchor Books. She lives in New York City.From the Trade Paperback edition.
 
Published June 19, 2018 by Simon & Schuster. 320 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Science Fiction & Fantasy, War, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Completionist
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

The Maine Edge

Good
Reviewed by Allen Adams on Jul 02 2018

“The Completionist” is the best kind of speculative fiction, smart and sharp. Its themes and ideas challenge readers while the narrative and characterizations capture and hold their imagination ... Powerful and thoughtful, this is a book that will stick in your synapses long after the last page is turned.

Read Full Review of The Completionist

Reader Rating for The Completionist
67%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 10 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×