The Countdown Conspiracy by Katie Slivensky

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Unfortunately, the author falls back on clichéd plot devices to carry the story (is it the Russians?!). Early on, obvious foreshadowing leads readers to a predictable whodunit with little room for speculation or mystery.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

Ambassador, you are go for launch in T- minus 5…4…3…2…. Get ready to blast off with this high-action, high-stakes middle grade adventure that’s perfect for fans of Chris Grabenstein and Peter Lerangis!

Miranda Regent can’t believe she was just chosen as one of six kids from around the world to train for the first ever mission to Mars. But as soon as the official announcement is made, she begins receiving anonymous threatening messages…and when the training base is attacked, it looks like Miranda is the intended target. Now the entire mission—and everyone’s lives—are at risk. And Miranda may be the only one who can save them.

The Martian meets The Goonies in this out-of-this-world middle grade debut where the stakes couldn’t be higher.

 

About Katie Slivensky

See more books from this Author
Katie Slivenksy is a science educator at the Museum of Science in Boston, and has worked in zoos and museums since she was 11. She grew up in Michigan and currently lives just outside of Boston. You can visit her online at www.katieslivensky.com.
 
Published August 1, 2017 by HarperCollins. 336 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Children's Books. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Countdown Conspiracy
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Below average
on Apr 17 2017

Unfortunately, the author falls back on clichéd plot devices to carry the story (is it the Russians?!). Early on, obvious foreshadowing leads readers to a predictable whodunit with little room for speculation or mystery.

Read Full Review of The Countdown Conspiracy | See more reviews from Kirkus
×