The Crimson Skew by S. E. Grove
(The Mapmakers Trilogy)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Pirates, sea captains, fortunetellers, a dragon, poisonous red fog, former slave traders, and healers populate a story that may introduce young readers to the old-fashioned pleasure of settling into a long, rich, and complicated tale.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

The stunning conclusion to S. E. Grove's New York Times–bestselling Mapmakers trilogy—a historical, fantastical adventure perfect for fans of Philip Pullman!

It is late August 1892, and Sophia Tims is coming home from a foreign Age, having risked her life in search of her missing parents. Now she is aboard ship, with a hard-earned, cryptic map that may help her find them at long last.

But her homecoming is anything but peaceful. Threatening clouds hang over New Orleans harbor. Sinkholes have been opening in Boston, swallowing parts of the city whole. Rogue weirwinds tear up the Baldlands. Worst of all, New Occident is at war, led by a prime minister who will do anything to expand the country westward. He has blackmailed Sophia’s beloved uncle Shadrack into drawing the battle maps that will lead countless men and boys—including Sophia’s best friend, Theo—to their deaths.

As Sophia puzzles out her next move, Shadrack is peeling back layers of government intrigue, and Theo is bracing himself to fight. A red fog of war is rising, and New Occident’s future hangs in the balance. . . .

The Crimson Skew is the thrilling final act of S. E. Grove’s acclaimed Mapmakers Trilogy—three unforgettable books set in a world like no other.


From the Hardcover edition.
 

About S. E. Grove

See more books from this Author
S.E. Grove is a historian and world traveler. This is her first novel. 
 
Published July 12, 2016 by Viking Books for Young Readers. 450 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Children's Books. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Crimson Skew
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Excellent
on Mar 30 2016

Pirates, sea captains, fortunetellers, a dragon, poisonous red fog, former slave traders, and healers populate a story that may introduce young readers to the old-fashioned pleasure of settling into a long, rich, and complicated tale.

Read Full Review of The Crimson Skew (The Mapmake... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for The Crimson Skew
89%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 16 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×