The Cure by Geeta Anand
How a Father Raised $100 Million--and Bucked the Medical Establishment--in a Quest to Save His Children

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

“Amazing….Explores human courage under the most trying circumstances.” —New York Post “An inspirational story about business, medical science, and one father’s refusal to give up hope.” —Boston Globe The book that inspired the movie, Extraordinary Measures, starring Harrison Ford, Brendan Fraser, and Keri Russell, The Cure by Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Geeta Anand is the remarkable true story of one father’s determination to find a cure for his terminally sick children even if it meant he had to build a business from scratch to do so. At once a riveting story of the birth of an enterprise—ala Tracy Kidder’s The Soul of a New Machine—and a inspiring tale of the indomitable human spirit in the vein of Erin Brockovich and A Civil Action, The Cure is a testament to ingenuity, unflagging will, and unconquerable love.
 

About Geeta Anand

See more books from this Author
Geeta Anand is a Pulitzer Prize-winning investigative reporter and feature writer for the Wall Street Journal. Formerly a political reporter for the Boston Globe, she now specializes in health care, education, and environmental challenges in India. She lives in Mumbai with her husband and two daughters.
 
Published February 20, 2009 by HarperCollins e-books. 370 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Business & Economics, Health, Fitness & Dieting, Professional & Technical, Parenting & Relationships, Science & Math. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Cure

DNA

By creating a fundraising platform to provide research grants, and then by joining a company to manage the research himself, Crowley raced against time to create the medicine before it became too late for his children.

Aug 22 2010 | Read Full Review of The Cure: How a Father Raised...

Reader Rating for The Cure
86%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 28 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×